My Composting Outhouse Toilet

I've seen lots of discussion about outhouses but I’ve never see anyone mention the system I use. So for those who are interested I have written a series of Q & A’s.

Outhouse 1.jpg

How did you go about setting up your composting outhouse?
I built a typical stick frame outhouse, but on a bit of a bank or slope so it was level at the front. I only had to dig out a couple feet in the back to make a level landing to accommodate rolling in a 55 gallon barrel. I didn't want to dig a hole and bury the barrel because I didn't think I would have the strength to pick it up, once full. A friend of mine who uses this same system but lives on level ground, built a raised outhouse so there were a couple steps up. I'm getting too old for steps, so I just located mine a bit further out where the land had a natural slope.

How does the toilet kit work?
The particular kit I use separates the urine from the solid waste (that's a really big deal for composting and odor control when it sits for months). The urine is syphoned off at the seat level by a cool diverter that catches the urine as you are seated (you don't have to do a thing but sit there, haha) directing it to a hose that is buried in gravel, out behind the outhouse (no more emptying or dumping, ever) and the waste falls into a 55 gallon plastic barrel. I don't put any TP in it, just solid waste and then I spread a scoop of sawdust, peat moss or cedar/leaf duff from under the trees over it after each use, which kills the odor and aids in composting.

Privy 500 Toilet Kit 2.jpg
Image Source

What system or toilet kit do you use?
It is called the 500 Privy from Separett. I ordered my toilet kit from Retailer and paid $130. You can order the folding seat one that looks more conventional, for $200. That was expensive (to me) for some plastic, Styrofoam and tubing but I just love it and would order it again without hesitation.

Privy 500 Toilet Kit.png
Image Source

What features does your composting outhouse have that others might not?
No matter the temperature outside the seat never gets cold or hot and I'll never have to dig a new hole or move the outhouse.

How does it compost?
I drilled some holes in the bottom of the barrel prior to use so that earthworms and such could access the waste. The dry material you cover your waste in absorbs the moisture allowing the beneficial microbes and worms to begin working at breaking down the waste almost immediately, and converting it into awesome fertilizer. The key is to keep the urine out of the barrel (you don't want to make a slurry), but no worries, that built in diverter solves that problem.

What kind of barrel did you use and where did you buy them?
I use the terra cotta colored, two part, screw on lid olive barrels. I think I paid $100 for 5 (I received a discount for purchasing multiples) a few years ago. I drove to get them and some IBC water totes. You might have a similar store near you. Container Store This one was a few hours away from me. Definitely worth the drive when you figure in shipping costs.

Olive Barrel 2.jpg
Image Source

How long before the barrel will need to be changed?
I live alone, so just myself using it and occasional guests, I use less than 1/2 a barrel a year. It is composting/reducing the entire time as it sits there.

What happens when the barrel is full?
When the barrel is full, I cap it off and roll it to its resting place for a year or two and viola, some of the best compost ever. I use the compost around my fruiting trees and berries. It's great for flowers too. The barrels are heavy but manageable when tilted a bit and rolled.

What problems does this system solve?
It takes the place of a septic system by safely containing waste, eliminating the need for a "dump" site. It promotes a healthy environment and removes the risk of run­off or water contamination.

I sound like a sales rep, lol. I am not affiliated in any way and get absolutely nothing for my endorsement. I just love this set up.

Onward in Strength!
Mary Lotus

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now