Crayfish Hunting in Algonquin Park Ontario Canada

One of the best memories as a kid growing up in cottage country was catching crayfish along the rocky shores of the countless fresh water lakes.


Quite impressed with herself you can see.

This time my youngest sister led the adventure. I we paddled out to a little rocky island in the middle of a large deep lake. I took the kayak and she and her cousin took the canoe. Another great thing about cottage country is the endless joy of doing things on the water.

Up Close and Personal

The water is crystal clear which one might think makes spotting them easier but you still have to lift and move tons of rocks to find their hiding places. In this photo below can you see the blood sucking leach by the tip of the stick? I hate leaches, they're only good for fish bait, just like crayfish.

The crayfish don't get much bigger than this too often but I have caught bigger in my youth.

I was surprised it was my sister's first time considering it was her idea. She had never touched one before and I knew once she caught one she'd be hooked.

I don't remember how many we caught that day but it seemed like under every other rock there was one waiting to be snatched up by giant hands that come from above the surface. It was a catch and release day, we didn't need them, it was just fun catching them and letting them go. These guys aren't good for eating if you were thinking that.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center