I got PASALUBONG from Batangas.

Pasalubong are things we bought from the place that we've visited. This a simple gift given to a person which looks like a present. Pasalubong in English was "Souveniers" so we can often refer in a particular popular food in that place, clothes with prints and some are handy craft made by locals.

Last Friday, my fiance and his friends went to Batangas. It was a province located at southern part of Luzon. Though the dialect of the people who lived there was tagalog also, but they had a distinct tone that only can be heard on them. Batangueño accent sounds sweet and playful to learn and the best way to adopt it was to stay there for atleast a week.

IMG_20211005_180905.jpg

I've never been used to ride a bike that far. I know how to ride a bike and other bike topics was not my forte. They stayed for 3 days in Batangas at his friends home. They were five men who decided to take this once in a lifetime fatbike journey. It is more difficult for them to travel cause their bikes weighs twice or even 3x heavier than a mountain bike weight. Aside from that, the road was elevated and many locals says that it is hard for a bicycle to made it.

Anyways, I haven't got the chance to be with them since I don't have a bike yet to ride on. Even if I had a bike, my fiance won't allowed me to travel that far. They spent 18 hours on the road from Bulacan (my current location) to Batangas. I cannot state all the details here in this blog cause I wanted to focused on my treat lol:)

IMG_20211004_223105.jpg

Here are foods that I recieved as a present or souveniers I guess so...

Roasted Coffee Grounds(my favorite!)

IMG_20211004_222152.jpg

It's been a year since the last time we had roasted coffee. I always had that instant black coffee at home. Good thing I had a french press so I can have no hassle brewed coffee. There's no fancy packaging and label but how strong this coffee are still a question.

However this one was like a cookie. Locals called it Dalangang Bukid based on the bakery that sells it but the taste can be compared to Butter Cookies.

IMG_20211005_182103.jpg

IMG_20211004_222257.jpg

It melts in your mouth and locals said it is popular and loves by everyone. I would say it is best when paired with brewed coffee which they had a lot.

IMG_20211004_222321.jpg

IMG_20211005_182300.jpg

Well this one, I don't know what they called it but based on my taste buds. I can taste this is a bread that has a crisp texture like chips. I will call it "Bread Chips".

Dragon Fruit

IMG_20211004_222339.jpg

I've never ate a dragon fruit before so this is my first time to try it and I am glad I'm gonna wrote about it too. This tree looks like a cactus unlike other trees that had it's body.

IMG_20211005_181610.jpg

IMG_20211005_181506.jpg

The taste was soury sweet like pineapple. It has blacks seeds and it's vibrant color looks like a stains. It's kinda slimey and very wet to hold. Does it looks like a strawberry?

And lastly, this red chilis are quite bigger than the usual red chili that I used all the time. I'm gonna use it for my upcoming new dish this week.

IMG_20211004_222422.jpg

IMG_20211004_222412.jpg

For my next blog I'm gonna share how I make my brewed coffee using this and some spicy food too. Hope you stay tune for that. Anyways, thanks for reading my story today. Keep safe and have a good day!

IMG_20211005_200059.jpg

All words and photos are mine. Shot thru my android phone. Hope you'll like it! :)
H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center