Corn Muffin (A beginner's experience)

Trying a recipe for the first time makes myself to over think how it would be if I tried it. Can I really copy that recipe or it would be a disaster? I have an instinct that once a situation wasn't been well enough prepared, the result can be not so good or fail in short. It's a surprise for me that I have to share a successful recipe which I am not totaly prepared ahead of time and haven't tried this before plus my first time to use an improvised oven.

20210305_184141.jpg

As my previous blogs I often used to baked by steaming but I wanted to achieved breads or cakes that wasn't dense but more lighter texture. Though I tried chiffon cakes using steaming method, I really wanted to have and tasted some burnt portions of the cake edges and bottoms. I know that it goes in the scraps but I liked that taste lol :) Kidding aside, today I'm gonna share my simple version of corn muffin with minimum ingredients.

20210305_181209.jpg

20210305_181815.jpg

I prepared flour, eggs, baking powder, baking soda, oil, condensed milk, salt, water and shredded corn. However you can use any store brought corn kernels. I mixed all the wet ingredients to dry ingredients together with the corn. Remember do not over mix the batter to have a moist and fluffy texture muffin.

20210305_182028.jpg

Scoop 3/4 full of the greased molder and put additional toppings. You can add grated cheese too!

This is my improvised oven. I put a thin sheet of metal above the stove. Put 2 layer of steamer and cover it to be pre heated before I put the muffin inside. I have changed cover to this one so I can see the muffins inside while baking.

20210305_182603.jpg

20210305_182127.jpg

I forgot to record the exact time how long it was cooked. Since it was my first time trying this kind of method in baking, some muffin burnt but as I said earlier, I liked the taste of burnt cakes. I put cheddar cheese on top and it really combine with the sweetness of the corn, the right texture of the muffin plus the slight saltness of the cheese. I will definitely try this again until I perfect this recipe. YUM!

20210305_183208.jpg

Thanks for dropping by and keep safe.❤

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now