Book Review: Second Class Citizen by Buchi Emecheta

Image source

Books have always been part of my childhood and they are still part of it till now. Home was littered with different books on different subjects; from romance to autobiographies to dark magic to self development, detectives, crimes, Sci-Fi etc. with sci-fi books and materials being my favorites and it seems I’m biased towards sci-fi because no matter how someone tells me a book is good, the first thing I would ask is “Is that book a Sci-fi?”

Picking up and reading Second Class Citizen by Buchi was a tough decision, I had to mentally tell myself that I should read the first few pages and if I don’t like it, then it wouldn’t mean much and moreover I couldn’t lay my hand on any sci-fi novels during that period.

It was originally written in 1974, and from the very first page, I found it fascinating. It tells a story I was practically able to relate with. It has two settings, from the Nigerian perspective and the other being a British setting.

The two major characters in the story are Adah and Francis, both from humbling background and who both got married against Adah’s parents’ wish. It depicts the early struggle of Adah’s life , from not been allowed to go school because she was a girl to the death of her father and she being forced to live with her grandmother to her marriage and child bearing as well which significantly jeopardize her dream of furthering her Education to University Level.

At a point, she was able to secure a visa to UK and she moved with her family. Then thing started changing around the house, Changes in Francis Character because he believed that there were limitations to what he could become due to the fact that he was an immigrant, the issue with getting accommodations because they were colored and several issues.

Above it all, she overcame everything, achieved her dream of get ting a higher education and living away from the “colored/immigrants” sections.

It is definitely a book I will recommend to you all to read.
Storyline – 08/10
Suspense – 07/10
Overall – 08/10

Buchi did a good job with this book. Read a book today.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center