Hanaer Naar, handcut collage 170/100cm.

naar-7.jpg

naar-1.jpg

One of my largest artworks is inspired by a well known building of my hometown, Thessaloniki. Designed by a Jewish architect and owned by an upper class Jewish family 100 years ago, stands as a reminder of my city's multicultural past. I created the artwork having as a guide the architectural sketches and as the material photographs of the city life 100 years ago taken from the municipality's archive. I used b&w for the building and the negative of the same photos for the background. I used liquid glue for pasting and to varnish the artwork which was mounted on a very heavy 170,100cm wooden board. That was a really bad idea which resulted to the destruction of the artwork due to bad storage conditions. Lesson learned!

Details
naar-4.jpg

naar-5.jpg

naar-6.jpg

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center