Look Before you Leap #3

10 days????

** That was the recurring question on my mind. **


It is fondly said that, if you want your friend to remember you while you are away on a trip, you should lend money from that friend. That way your friend would be the one acting almost like a guardian angel, praying for your safety so that you'll be able to refund the money when you're back.

That is what my good friend, the bank just did to me, my bank!!!
Can you believe it??? They took my money on a trip to be paid back next year. But in my case, I can't ascertain if I'm friends with the bank, but I'll be praying that nothing ever happens to them at the moment. Not when I'll have to wait for at least ten(10) days for my money to be reversed. So for the first time in my life, I'll be the one sending the bank a Happy New Year message.

image

Image Source


So after the disappointment of the previous day, as I left the bank, hoping that Ma'ams words would come to pass eventually... But we all know, it's only God who said that "Heaven and earth will pass away. But My Words will never pass away."

Eminem once said in his song titled "No love", "I'm alive again, more alive than I've been in my whole entire life..." This particular lyrics was the reason for my renewed energy, as I prepared not to storm the bank this time around again, feeling it wouldn't be of any help. But rather,to go in meekness of mind, requesting for help from this dilemma, even if it meant me prostrating as I did that.

I was reinvigorated today, making sure not to pay attention to any other thing I would be told than "Young man, your query has been logged into the system. Please exercise a little patience, it will be resolved" rather than the normal "oh, it's you the one with the DYA complaint, don't worry it will be reversed automatically, no need for logging the complaint into the server."


In addition to being reinvigorated, I had made sure I was with my international passport, my school ID card, and every other credentials of mine that might be needed by the bankers.

Okay, I know you might be thinking why did he do all of this, of course I've learnt to Look before I leap, or do you think I'll actually like to be in this kind of situation again. Hell no definitely. Never again.
image


As I stepped into the bank, it seemed as though lady luck was with me as I saw Ma'am seated on her seat with a prim. Everything should go fine I said to myself as I sluggishly moved towards her.

I should have just gone straight to the point, but I was brought up to always greet my elders, so I said a brief word of greetings to ma'am. She was quite busy as there where others on the queue, waiting to be attended to. Juxtaposed between a man and a lady, the man was laying a complaints of how he would sue the bank to court for not inviting him to start work after he had been congratulated for passing the exams.

Don't worry sir, your money would be refunded she said...
** Thank you ma'am, I said sheepishly. **
Then the reply came, sorry Young man I was actually referring to my "Oga" here. I felt the tears trickle down my eyes, but as a man, I shouldn't be found crying. I was dumbfounded for a moment.


Inquiring what my problem was again, I meant to ask her ma'am, so after all my visits you still didn't store my face? But then I just narrated the same old story over and over to her again.

It was all cacophonic to my hearing, when she said, oh, I can now recall. I had to log your complaint into the server yesterday before closing for work, as I perceived that it might not be returned without the data being taken.
image


I should be feeling good, but why had they make me waste transportation fare on such frivolous issue. This should have been done since the first day I reported the case I said to myself.
OK ma'am I finally retorted. Uhmm, so how long would it take???

Believe me, this is where you actually wished you were dreaming, I was waiting for someone to wake me up. Then it dawned on me that this was all real.


>*"I can't really say," she replied. "It might take 10 days for it to be reversed." It was somewhat phantasmagorical as I started pondering on how long those days would be. 10 good days and it wasn't certain it would be these amount of days. Maybe she was actually trying to do a work of damage control to prevent me from going into a cardiac arrest.*

I could as well had congratulated myself on devising what was certainly the best way to save my money. Almost too good, this way I couldn't see it reflecting in my account.
But then, the thought of waiting for ten days could be compared to nothing I've ever witnessed in my life.
image


** Finally, I'll go get my cranium checked and will be an example to the upcoming generation on why it definitely pays to "Look Before you Leap" or in @mitneb words "Measure Twice, Cut Once." And yeah, it shouldn't be regarded as a cliché, for if only I had pondered on those very words, I wouldn't be in such an ordeal. **

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now