Introduction from Lexi Hearts (Artwork)

Hello, my name is Alexis. People have always called me Lexi though I don't really care for it but I go with the flow.

I have since I was a little girl I have drawn and painted. It was my escape and therapy from life and still is to this day.

Some people have said that they don’t see a definable style in my work. Some people have made light of the more risqué work that I have done. But there is a common element in all of the work. For those that take the time to look.

Pain is a constant thread in my life and does come out in my art. I suffered physical and sexual abuse. I’ve lived shame of the shadow of that abuse. I hide because I’m not good enough. But the one outlet I have always had is art.

I was able to learn computer art from a guy who lied in my building. He had worked in movies doing visual effects. He taught a few of us in the neighborhood who didn’t have a lot of options. So I learned sound design, animation, video, and how to use a Wacom tablet to draw. Until recently, I still used the same Wacom tablet that I started on but it bit the dust.

I was always told and believed that art was in the eye of the viewer. The artist did their job when the paint dried. The artist had no business telling anyone how to view their art, what they intended, or what it is supposed to mean. It swayed people too much. I had the privilege one day to meet a filmmaker named David Lynch. I lucked into a few days working on one of his projects. When asked to further explain something about his movies, he simply replies “No” and that is always what I have done.

My PTSD is triggered easily. I know people want to know more. Hear about process. Have discussions and debates. This is all I can offer. All of those other things drain me of energy and it takes days to recover.

I will say this because it is part of the work and doesn't ruin anything, The triangles you see are meaningful. Everything in life is based on a triangle, simplified sure. But the meaning of life is in there. The holy grail. The real one. Half the population is the holy grail … I just don’t think people can see it. It’s been lost but there have always two halve. The grail isn’t complete with out its opposite. You’ll rarely see the completed part in my work … if it’s there, it’s my subconscious…

I do my best to do the work and have it speak for itself.

Here is a a link to one of my art profiles as well as a sample image. This image is called Polliwog Burned. The Polliwog is a creature from my nightmares and I did four digital images of it to try to remove it from my mind. This one is a bit scorched.

polliwog-burned.jpg For sale at: https://objkt.com/asset/kalamint/49827

Link to one art portfolio (some images are for sale). https://objkt.com/profile/lexihearts/created

Thank you for reading

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center