Amazon to transform The Lord of the Rings into a TV Show

Good news or bad news? Well, I'm not really excited about the news because first I'm not a TV show person, I prefer watching a movie knowing that it has an end... Lol. And secondly I'm a biggggg fan of The Lord of the Rings movie.
Guess none of my above expression matters to Amazon anyways because they announced that they've acquired the TV rights for the book series with a multi-season commitment.
It's also reported that the Lord of the Rings could be a prequel, rather than the story most people know. The head of scripted series at Amazon studios said in a statement "we are honored to be working with the Tolkien estate and trust Harper Collins and New line on this exciting collaboration for television and are thrilled to be taking The Lord of the Rings fans on a new journey in Middle Earth".
With the huge audience gotten from the Lord of the Rings movie, Amazon plans to leverage on it by giving the TV show a new storyline making it a prequel to the classic tale of Frodo Baggins. This will give Amazon plenty of room to create its own characters.
Now let me say this the only reason I'm going to be a bit excited is because I believe I the TV show is going to add pressure to Game of Thrones which I've never watched or picked an interest in despite its popularity. So people let's keep our fingers crossed and watch out for The Lord of the Rings TV show.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center