My Favorite Artist; Michael Parkes

Entry1_1114_Thumbnail.jpg
A great American artist from Missouri, born in 1944. He paints mermaids and minotaurs with such amazing details I am sure this is what they look like.
This one is called Diamond Warrior, I have the print over my desk
Entry1_952_Thumbnail.jpg
His art is something along the lines of Realistic Fantasy Art. He's still alive so it's easier to learn about where he comes up with his amazing creations.
I have three friends that were artists, I say were because they've given up on art, they learned they couldn't make a living as artists, couldn't even make extra money selling their work.
That makes me sad because they are very good. But new modern art has been shoved down our throats, really bad art, we're supposed to believe is great art; dirty urinals, mostly blank canvas' representing the human void or something stupid, elmer's glued collages, childlike impressionism representing world chaos or some other meaningless conclusion

Is this subjective opinion? Sure, but I know a plate of poo from a plate of fine cuisine.
Back to Michael Parkes, this is another favorite called "The Last Lion" that's the deva protector of the lion kingdom and found the sad human emotions shown in the lion evocative.
Entry1_1104_Thumbnail.jpg
These samples are from Michael Parkes' official website, please visit to see how vast and varied his work is.
http://theworldofmichaelparkes.com/cm/Home.html

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center