The "First Call" - #newbieresteemday, #newbiegames

THE “FIRST CALL”

Fully trained and certified as a volunteer on a suicide hotline, I sat in the quiet of my home, mouth dry, heart booming, hands shaking, as I awaited my “First Call” to be “patched through”.

It happened! The call ominously exploded the stillness!

In that moment, the simple act of picking up the phone felt daunting, impossible.

I began questioning my sanity for VOLUNTEERING for this!

The call was from a successful business woman who despite financial, socio-economic and cultural advantages was a broken, hurting and self-destructive soul!

My job was to assess the risk, take necessary measures, to “intervene”, like send emergency medical aid.

Her life was saved that night. Though we never met, her voice was imprinted in my heart. I never forgot it.

Ten years later I was getting price quotes for my business and made a call to a potential supplier. Their company operator transferred me to the owner.

When she answered, I knew who she was. When I replied, she knew who I was.

There was a pregnant and precious pause. We both stammered warm and grateful words to each other.

As it turns out neither of us forgot that “First Call”.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now