A Little Advice From a Little Fish to a Little Fish

I've been a member of Steemit since August of 2017, and I didn't start posting until last month. I certainly don't know all the ins and outs, but there are a few things I have experienced that I would like to share with anyone who may be first starting out.
person-woman-hotel-laptop.jpg

On following:
When I was new, I was eager to make connections. I followed whoever followed me, whoever upvoted me, and whoever commented on anything. Well not really everyone, but I suggest you don't do this. Following people indiscriminately will fill up your news feed with content that you don't care about. You will end up impatiently scrolling down hoping to see something that sparks your interest. Instead, check out the other person's blog first and ask yourself: Is this interesting? Is this someone or something I care about? Is there the potential for great content in the future? Then make your decision. As a result of following pretty much everyone I came in contact with, I now have to go back and look through many people's blogs and do a little purge. Granted, alot of the hollow posts on my feed are from resteembots, and I'll get to that next.

48904254-Vector-cartoon-fish-jumping-out-of-water-Stock-Vector.jpg

On resteem services:
So you've spent some time on your content. You poured your heart and soul into it and edited it to perfection. You have chosen or created eye catching images and when you're finished, it's your baby!! You're excited to share it, and you want others to be excited too!! Then you post it...one hour goes by... two hours go by...three hours go by and you've only got a handful of votes, views, and responses. Well, of course nobody knows who you are yet! You may be tempted to use a resteeming service to get more exposure on your post. You pay them and they resteem to their followers, and you usually have to follow them too... I've tried @minnowpond, @steembot, @funadda, and several others. When I resteemed this post https://steemit.com/family/@snowpea/wedding-day to @minnowpond, there were actually people on the other end commenting on my post and upvoting!! Not really with the other services. You may have a different result trying others but I'll warn you, you'll probably just waste your funds and even @minnowpond will not be necessarily worth it. I am unfollowing the other resteeming services soon, as they fill my feed up with junk. The exception of course is minnowpond and maybe resteembot. ;)

On commenting:
Always reply to other people's comments on your post. They've spent time looking at it and they want to communicate with you!! Comment on other people's posts too, but don't force it. Comment on the things that resonate with you and if you don't know what to say think on it a little. At first you'll be interacting with strangers and it might take time to find your footing if all you know is Facebook. This is much better than Facebook in many ways. I've been told sometimes it takes time to find your place, your niche, your people, and to build your following. Don't give up!! I am a little fish too, and we're in this together!

Much love, Snowpea 🙂😘❤
C360_2017-10-24-14-53-00-833.jpg

COMMENTS WELCOME!

If you've learned anything or have any advice you would like to give to a minnow, please share!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center