Life Fishing in the Bearing Sea

IMG_2343.JPG

There just is nothing else like it. The majestic and awe inspiring place I have ever worked. It is a place that makes you feel truly alive. It was a journey of my life. It took about 10 hours beginning at Pittsburgh International Airport all the way to the Anchorage Airport in Alaska. Then It was a PenAir puddle jumper on to The Barefoot Inn in ColdBay Alaska. To get to my boat F/V Nancy Gayle and then it was an additional 6 hours to get to the Peter Pan processing plant at Port Moller, Alaska which was our home base.

IMG_2336.JPG

IMG_2344.JPG

IMG_2372.JPG

IMG_2369.JPG

Cold Bay was where I really had my first chance to just take in some of the beauty that is Alaska or so I thought. The mountains with their snow caps and the wild flowers. The wild life was seemly at every turn of my head. I thought to myself just how amazing our planet really is.

IMG_2371.JPG

IMG_2384.JPG

IMG_2379.JPG

IMG_2387.JPG

IMG_2381.JPG

IMG_2415.JPG

IMG_2412.JPG

From this point on I can say the true journey had begun. To commercial fish for salmon in the Bearing Sea. With long hours and hard work over the next 3 months myself and the captain would catch 178,000 lbs. on our 37 foot Nancy Gayle and what a ride it was. I cannot wait to get back out and have new experiences and new memories of a lifetime.

I have many more stories to tell of this epic adventure but for now if you like please upvote and resteem me. Leave me a comment and follow me. I will do the same. so I will sail off into the sunset for now. I hope we all have enough. live it like it is your last.

IMG_2521.JPG

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now