New on Netflix 25-April

It isn't often that Netflix decides to release 2 really great films on the same day but that is what is happening on the 25th. Most people have probably already seen these but I believe both of them are worth a re-watch as well.

Django Unchained

7dba32e16001e969abb4c1b57724db0d.jpg
src

Some think it is one of Tarantino's best and gives the famed director the opportunity to present us with a full film that was a style present in many of his prior films: Westerns. This was the second time I had ever seen Christoph Waltz in a movie (the first being Inglourious Basterds) and the star power in this production is second to none.

Tarantino brings along his racy dialogue and gory action in this very exciting ride that keeps the pace moving from start to finish. As is traditional in his films, some shocking and unexpected situations occur such as the elimination of key characters when you least expect it (think of the rather lackluster elimination of Vincent Vega in Pulp Fiction.)

A source of many memes, Tarantino's prolific use of the N-word throughout the film brought him a lot of criticism that he basically ignored. Is this Tarantino's best film? Personally I think that it is certainly in the top 3!


The Artist

41jTUNjahYL._AC_.jpg
src

When I first started watching this film years ago I will admit that I was rather unimpressed at first due to the fact that the entire film is totally silent. It wasn't until I had time to process what I had just seen that I realized how much of a work of art this movie is. Did it deserve to sweep the Oscars? I still don't think that is the case but it certainly was something special and it leaves you thinking about it long after it is over about how momentous the time period was when movies started to have sound.

I would imagine this would have been a strange film to have seen in the theater since a vast majority of the movie is completely quiet. You would have been able to hear every kernel of popcorn getting chewed.


Lil Peep: Everybody's Everything

AAAABW4zvbuioHLhofjljlWyVuSaZSVUeKdBOHvNZyKXpI4soQZM7EfOGodfZxJEI_wX9ofiu1Nz5_N_MCegOPSrRV3p7UB.jpg
src

I'm just joking about this. I made it about 20 minutes in and wanted to poke my eyes out. It is, sadly, one of the most popular things on Netflix globally right now though. I fear for humanity.

download.png

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now