Stranger things hits the sweet spot.

image.png

And that was one of the greatest things I’ve ever watched.

I saw the trailer for this show a few days before it came out and didn’t really expect much from it. I assumed it was more or less a generic sci-fi series, which would market more for kids.

Watched the first episode the day it came out, because I kept seeing ads for it pop up on, only for it being the first thing Netflix recommended to be logging in that that.

Clicked on it expecting to be there for 15 minutes and stop watching. Ended up sitting through the entire first episode until it ended and just going “Wait, that was really good!”.

Was 3-4 episodes into season one and just went “Hey, this might be the greatest show I’ve ever watched.”

An opinion I wasn’t sure would be common when I posted about it after season one, only to see pretty much everyone I knew watched and loved it.

It became such a culturally relevant show, later that year, I’d walk through Manhattan during Halloween week and for days, everyone was holding a box of Eggo’s and wearing a blonde wig and pink dress.

Was excited for season two and it 100% delivered.

Maybe a little too well, because I thought it ended perfectly and didn’t need a third season.

Season three comes and once again, I really loved it, but it had a little more negativity online.

Watching that season maybe four times in the three years it came out, I think the big reason was just that it didn’t build the world enough and failed to take changes.

Season four took changes, built the world, gave new and interesting characters and gave a ton of scenes I was on the edge of my seat.

I honestly can’t come up with one negative thing to say about this or one nitpick.

If there was any complaint, the ending has a lot of reunions and maybe each one could have used an extra 30 seconds or so. One big reunion probably should have had an extra minute, but even that, I feel most shows would have had a bigger wait for it that’d get annoying.

Season five will be the last season after four amazing seasons. Stranger Things has been around now for six years and the gap between seasons three and four was a three year wait.

I doubt the wait will be close to as long, but if that’s what’s needed to get this level of quality, I’ll happily post a season five review in 2025.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now