Coin Grab Bag - Lets see what I got!! - Pile of Coins, lets Pick some and take a look. Great Britian 3Pence

20230801_161658-COLLAGE.jpg

Got a Pile of Coins - And a nice Lunch

PXL_20230801_210824348.jpg
Hi went out to eat with a coworker who is an avid coin collector and is considering opening up a coin shop. We had a great lunch and as we had talked about prior he brought a $50 grab bag for me of coins. He knows I like older stuff, silver, and anything that is appealing to the eye. Since he didn't want to make the choice 100% independently, he gave me a couple of different options. One was the bag of coins that I got, the other was a bag of individually priced coins that I could pick through and pick any combination. Good news is I already have my next purchase planned out as I really liked one of the more expensive coins but for the day and we met I was feeling this crab bag and mixture of foreign and silver that I don't have any of.
...

image.png

I picked these Great Britain three pence coins to share. These were both in the grab bag and are a brand new coin to my collection. I don't have anything from Great Britain and I don't think I have any silver three pence. I am pretty sure that these are the first ones in my collection, unless I have a random one that I inherited that I have not yet found. Let's take a look at some stats that I found on these coins.

Great Britain 3 Pence

1934 3 Pence1942 3 Pence
KingGeorge V (1910-1936)George VI
CompositionSilver (.500)Silver (.500)
Weight1.41 g1.41 g
Diameter16 mm16 mm
Thickness0.89 mm0.95 mm
Mintage7,406,0004,144,000

Details from Numista

3 Pence Obverse

PXL_20230801_210938976.jpg
...

The offers of these coins look pretty good in my opinion. They both have the portrait of a king, but if you notice I do believe that the 1942 might have a different King than the 1934. I believe it went from King George the 5th to King George the 6th. I think they both have a good design, and I like how they have some patina from age. I think they look better because they're 50% silver and will get that nice silver patina over time. It allows you to have good detail as well as some precious metal value.

3 Pence Reverse

PXL_20230801_210954836.jpg
...
There are two different reverse designs. The older 1934 has the three leaves and sticks three pence design that looks pretty nice, but I think I prefer the 1942 reverse that has a very nice Shield crest on the rivers. Both of them I think are in fairly good shape considering their age. Not sure if these just wear better than the American 90% silver that I'm used to, or if these just didn't get as much circulation. As you can see both of these are marked on the reverse from a coworker that they have actual silver wage of 0.0227 Oz of silver. While it's not much pocket full of these would still be some sound money for sure.

I hope you stick around as I continue to unbox this grab bag of coins and I will pick out my next additions. I did sneak peek through and majority of these have silver content while a few of them do not. Either way I think they're a bunch of great coins and examples of stuff that I don't have, or didn't have prior to this purchase.

I'm sure that I stackers from across the pond have oodles of these and are not very excited like I am for them but as someone from the States you don't see these very often.

image.png

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now