Coin Grab Bag - Highlight #7 1914 Canada 10 Cents


image.png

Got a Pile of Coins - And a nice Lunch

PXL_20230801_210824348.jpg
It's time to find it finish off this series of posts. This is the last and final coin ed up co-worker luckily for me it is another silver coin to add to my collection and stack. This falls suit of many of the other coins that were silver and foreign. Let's take a look at this little gem.
...

image.png

Canada 10 Cents

image.png

1914 Canadian 10 Cent
KingGeorge V (1910-1936
CompositionSilver (.925)
Weight2.324 g
Diameter18.034 mm
Mintage3,613,937

Details from Numista
Well dimes are always small, and don't have that much silver I do love that this is Sterling at 925. I think it gives a little bit of a boost to its stackability. Fractional silver at 90% or higher is always great in my mind, and I do love dimes as one of the cheapest ways to stack fractional silver. I looked at buying fractional silver rounds when I first started staffing and was shocked and disgusted at the cost for premium over spot for the fractional round started stacking us 90% silver for my fractional stack and bullion for my bigger stuff. I think I could add a couple of tubes of these Canadian dimes in the lower grade, and maybe a decent collection of more mid-grade stuff.

1914 Canadian 10 Cents Obverse

image.png
Well this falls under the traditional coin out versus of having a depiction of the king the ruler on the front I like this one more than some of the others. I think I actually like it because of his crown. It adds some really great detail and this coins where plus patina to me makes it very attractive for the eyes. The contrast between the dark patina and the light spots that have been worn makes this the kind of coins that I'd like. While I'm sure that there's plenty of elegant beautiful detail that has been worn down, I like this probably more than a brand new shiny high grade one

...

1914 Canadian 10 Cents Reverse

image.png
This reverse it's right up my alley too. The words are very clear to read, and has another depiction of the crown which gives some great detail and some leaf patina to fill in and really make the coin pop in my opinion. A traditional oak leaves around the edge and a little bit of reading calendar the coin makes it look very attractive to me. Probably one of my favorite designs so far in the collection that I picked up. I just think it has a lot of simple I appeal that makes the overall coin look good and as if I stated on many posts a lot of times I end up buying what looks good, and maybe not the best value or best condition but you have to like what you buy so it might as well fit whatever category that is.

...

I'm sad that this collection is over and I have nothing else to post for a while, it looks like I need to find time in a calendar to go back out for lunch and buy that seated coin that I picked out from him so I can at least share that before digging through my grandparents stack as it gets colder or digging through my bullion to see what peaks my interest. I should be adding more to my stack but I am in recent times but I am currently trying to work on some other financial goals and have pause the majority of my precious metal buying coin collecting until I've restructured some of my other financial accounts to where my cash flow is in a better position for a long time.

image.png

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now