Coin Grab Bag - Highlight #6 1944 Great Britain 6 Pence

image.png

Got a Pile of Coins - And a nice Lunch

PXL_20230801_210824348.jpg
Back with the pen ultimate coin of the collection I bought at lunch with a coworker friend. Since it's taking me way too long to post this collection it's about time for me to have lunch with him again and probably by a few more let's take a look at this one and see what I got
...

image.png

Great Britain 6 Pence

image.png

1944 6 Pence
DesignerT.H. Paget
CompositionSilver (.500)
Weight2.876 g
ASW.0455oz
Diameter19.5 mm
Mintage36,953,000

Details from Numista
This time I added a Great Britain sixpence to go along with the three pence that I picked up in a prior post. This just means I have more great silver today at the collection. While I don't love government issue coins at 50%. Stacking perspective, I still think it might be a fun way to add some going to the collection. It would be a half newest mavic halves precious metal play that has both levers to influence the price of the coin. I'll have to keep my eyes open for these the next time I'm in the LCS

6 Pence Obverse

image.png
Like so many coins, the head or bust of the leader is put onto the coin. While I'm not a big fan of celebrating leaders or specific individuals, as I would much rather support the ideals that the country should stand for this portrait isn't that bad overall.
...

6 Pence Reverse

image.png
I really like the reverse of the sixpence. Might be the larger size, but the design to me is very clean. Everything is clear without too much detail. This allows for the big initials, the crown, and the wording around the edge all three very legible without having to design be cluttered with a very ornate design
...

Overall it was nice to add something new to the collection and at just shy of 120th of an ounce it has a little bit of silver in it. I think some of my favorite coins to stack are the coins that are both new Hispanic and precious metals and have a dual collectibility in my opinion.

image.png

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now