Coin Grab Bag - Highlight #5 Great Britain 2 Shilling


image.png

Got a Pile of Coins - And a nice Lunch

PXL_20230801_210824348.jpg
I'm back breaking down the collection of coins I got for my friend over a month ago and went out for lunch. I'll see if I can get the rest of these posts out in the next week and complete the series. This post is another nice foreign silver piece, and something brand new to my collection that I don't have any of. This feature is for the Great Britain to shilling. Well I am terrible at figuring out the denomination of Britain's money, I'm sure that over time I'll get it figured out as it seems as fractional as ours was I'm just not sure on the terminology.
...

image.png

Great Britain 2 Shilling

1941 2 Shilling
KingGeorge VI (1936-1952)
CompositionSilver (.500)
Weight11.31 g
Diameter28.5 mm
Thickness2.1 mm
Mintage24,451,000

Details from Numista
I think I like the two shilling a lot because it's big. And while it's only 50% silver, the size of the coin makes up for it a little bit. This coin pulls in an ASW of .1818.

That's not a ton of silver, but it's a decent amount. You are not a fan of coins letter unless it's closer to the 90% but I'll make an exception this time since it's new to me. I think the lower the percentages the less I want to stack. I sold all my 40% Kennedy silver half's for the same reason

2 Shilling

image.png
I really like the reverse. I am usually a sucker for a nice design that reminds me of a coat or arms this one has some nice highlights with the. Crown, the clover, and a nice flower. I will be honest, I got a bit lazy and did not yet look up the design specifics to know what they are supposed to represent. I know they usually try to put a lot of meaning into the images on the coins since it's. Held by us common folk. They need to remind us of the stability, power, and structure they provide on a daily basis.

Either way I think it's a nice new coin added to my collection. Not going to stack these for weight, but a small run in silver might be in my future.

...

Hope I didn't make any more mistakes in the post. Doing it all on my phone while on vacation makes preview, spelling and edits hard for me.

image.png

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now