First Sweater Experience

I have noticed whenever people come to know of my knitting hobby, they demand I make a sweater for them. I have been asked to make a sweater for someone 3 times since I started knitting in December 2018.

I am 2 months shy of a year of knitting and I definitely consider myself a noob at this craft. I remember losing my favorite hat when it got cold in Atlanta, Georgia last winter and I thought to myself, “screw it! I’ll just make one”. I looked at several free hat patterns, bought myself a pair of straight needles and worsted weight yarn from Walmart, and off I knit. Being as choosey as I am, I couldn’t decide on any particular pattern. I decided to knit as I please and shape the top of the hat loosely following one of the youtube videos available for free. Then, I made my very first hat and even though it’s slightly big on an adult man’s head, it can be of help I am sure.

I started knitting a raglan sweater for my sister about a month ago (loosely) following the Ravelry pattern Flax. I liked the idea of adding some detail to the sleeves, but instead of knitting a garter panel I decided to make a jumbo cable going down the sleeves. It required me to creatively maneuver around this little change. Apart from a few holes from where the kfb increases start, I think it looks rather fine. I just finished my second skein of yarn and in the next row I'll be separating the sleeves from the round.

2019-10-05 11.43.11 2.jpg

Since I started knitting this sweater, I have been a yarn hoarder. I have bought three circular needles, some darning needles, hundreds of dollars’ worth of yarn, persuaded my sister to drive me up to obscure yarn stores. One frugal life pro tip I can provide is to use ring earrings as stitch markers. We had a bunch lying around and we can only wear so many earrings at a time.

2019-10-05 11.43.11 1.jpg

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center