NeedleworkMonday: My "top secret" socks [Ger/Eng]

Top Secret! / Streng geheim!



Source: Pixabay


Mit diesen Socken fühle ich mich ein wenig wie @neumannsalva es in ihrem Post letzte Woche beschrieben hat. Aber es ist ein bisschen anders. Ich bin "gezwungen", diese Socken zu stricken - was nicht das Problem ist. Ein Paar simple Socken in Größe 38, das ist ein Kinderspiel. Der Stein des Anstosses ist das Garn. Das wurde mir mit "Es war bei Aldi im Angebot - du machst mir doch ein paar Socken davon, ja?" übergeben. Nun, diese freundliche Anfrage kam von meiner Schwester, also habe ich natürlich ja gesagt. Obwohl ich natürlich gesagt habe was ich davon halte. Mehrmals und laut.

With these socks I feel a bit like @neumannsalva must have according to her post last week. But it's a bit different. I'm "forced" to knit these socks - which is not the problem. One pair of "vanilla" socks in size 38, that's a piece of cake. What makes this cake nearly unpalatable is the yarn. It was handed to me with "It was on sale at Aldi - would you make me some socks?" Well, it was my sister, so of course I said yes. While expressing my feelings. Repeatedly and loudly ;)

Ich habe nichts gegen Aldi und andere Discounter, ich kaufe auch dort ein. Aber Garn? Stricken ist ein Hobby und ich möchte Spaß dabei haben. Und ich will, dass die Dinge, die ich mache, lange halten und die Menschen, die sie tragen, sich wohl fühlen damit. Bei minderwertigen Garnen funktioniert das nicht. Mit billigem Garn mag man Glück haben - aber meistens ist es aus gutem Grund billig. Und 6 € für 200g Sockengarn (inklusive eines Nadelspiel).... billiger geht es nicht. Und deshalb ist es ein streng geheimes Projekt - ich will nicht, dass jeder weiß, dass ich mit so einem Garn stricke. Aber von euch wird es ja niemand weitererzählen, oder?

I have nothing against Aldi and other discount supermarkets, I shop there, too. But yarn? Knitting is a hobby and I want to have fun while doing it. And I want the things I make to last and the people that wear them feel comfortable and happy. This won't work with low-quality yarn. You might strike lucky with cheap yarn - but most often it's cheap for a reason. And 6 € for 200g of sock yarn (including a set of DPNs)... you can't get more cheap. And that's why it's a top secret project - I don't want everyone to know I knit with such a yarn. But you won't tell anyone, will you?

Nun, man kann damit stricken. Es ist nicht super weich, aber viele Sockengarne sind beim Stricken fester und werden nach ein oder zwei Waschgängen weich. Die Farben sind nicht schlecht. Aber die Haut an meinen Fingern, wo ich das Garn am meisten berühre (linker Daumen, rechter Daumen und Zeigefinger), wird nach dem Stricken für einige Zeit etwas empfindlich. Ich hoffe, es ist nur die Beschichtung auf der Oberfläche und nicht der Farbstoff. Okay, ich stricke ziemlich viel - ich will diese Socken so schnell wie möglich fertig machen...

Well, you can knit with it. It's not super soft, but a lot of sock yarns are more dense while knitting and get soft after a wash or two. The colors aren't bad. But the skin on my fingers where I touch the yarn the most (left thumb, right thumb and index fingers) gets a bit sensitive after knitting for some time. I hope it's only the coating on the surface and not the dyestuff. Okay, I'm knitting quite a lot - I want to finish these socks as soon as possible...

Das Garn reicht zwar für zwei Paar Socken, aber ich habe meiner Schwester gesagt, dass ich nur ein Paar mit diesem Garn stricken würde und für das nächste Paar muss sie ein Garn aus meinem Vorrat auswählen! Ihre Tochter hat das erst gestern gemacht, sie hat sich für ein schön gemustertes Garn mit etwas Alpaka entschieden - ich kann es kaum erwarten, damit anzufangen!

Anyway... while the yarn would be enough for two pair of socks, I told my sister I would only knit one pair with this yarn and for the next pair she has to choose one yarn from my stash! Her daughter did that just yesterday, she choose a lovely patterned yarn with some alpaca in it - I can't wait to start knitting that!

What's on my needles

  • said socks (btw: I'm following my basic toe-up pattern and will do a round short-row heel),
  • the Estuary-shawl is slowly turning from WiP into "hibernating". At the moment I'm not in the mood for knitting complicated patterns,
  • the cotton hat I showed you last week - I'm waiting for my sister to tell me if it will fit before I knit further,
  • not the red socks I started the other week. I don't like the yarn for socks, that project got frogged and will probably be a shawl one day,
  • a new shawl for "mindless" knitting. First time with lace weight yarn, though I use 3.25mm needles (US 3). The pattern's name is "Seashell" and it really looks like one. Someone else already made this shawl in the yarn I use and I love it!

SBI

Nächsten Montag wird ein SBI-Anteil an einen zufällig ausgewählten Autor eines Kommentars hier gehen.

One SBI-Share will go to a randomly chosen author of a comment to this post after payout.


5% der Einnahmen dieses Posts gehen automatisch an @t-r-f, den Reisekostenunterstützungsfond für das SteemFest.

5% of this post's rewards automatically go to @t-r-f, the travel reimbursement fund for SteemFest.


https://steemitimages.com/300x0/https://ipfs.busy.org/ipfs/QmecULsErxwJQyshpY6vQ1dAFFuVQBch9dZmZikSqPDmYY
Needleworkmonday Discord
Creative Coin Discord
DACH-Community Discord
H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center