upcycling project: transforming a pink men shirt into an elegant blouse

"before.after.jpg"

(before and after of the project)

Whenever I have an inspiration for a new project, I do get very excited about spinning the ideas in my head, thinking of the best way to design and create the images I have inside my head.

Once I got those ideas, I almost can’t get myself to concentrate on something else.

For sure I can say that the most intuitive and passionate part of my work is, creating the ideas and doing the craft. Then there is the part of taking photos and describing what I did. I do really enjoy taking photos of my work and present it, even though it is not always easy. But I did realize, that as soon as I have finished a project, I feels like I lost something. I lost the idea, because I created it. It is no longer an idea it is an object now, outside my head. I find it beautiful to be able to give my ideas a form, but it is always connected with some sort of melancholia, when I made another idea leave my thoughts.

I don’t really find the time to process my thoughts to a creation after its finished. The process takes place, really, while I am within the creation. While I am within a creation, I like to express my thoughts about it or what inspired me to add certain details or use those specific techniques. And while I am still working on a piece or when I just finished it, I have the most fun taking pictures of it, and thinking of the scene I want to see the garment in.

I think that is also a reason, why I find it difficult to talk about my work after I finished and concluded it.

And why limit myself to have to verbalize and visualize the whole working process after, why not while I work on something?

That’s what I’ll do now. I start writing when I am in the middle of imagining another upcycling shirt.

In this case I keep on with the series of upcycled men shirts.

before.jpg
(the shirt, before, how it used to be)

What attracted me to buy this shirt was; the color, that the pink was different on the in and outside, which would leave me with the option to make a reversable blouse out of it. Also, I do like to work with very random colors sometimes, colors that I don’t have the habit of wearing. What I like about that is, that I will not repeat a color or a cut I know or like, but that I have completely new associations, where I have no idea how they will turn out. Furthermore, I liked the tags of the shirt, I found them cute, especially the size tag showing a little sewing machine on it.

tags.JPG

I don’t want to go for the wrap top again. The idea is to make the sleeves larger, widthwise and have an adjustable but very open back, and make the whole top reversable so you could wear it in a darker or in the brighter pink tone.

What I created is pretty much what I had in mind, so now I’ll just leave you with some impressions of the actual outcome:)

process.jpg

(the process: above you see the shirt with all the parts I took or cut off, and underneath it is the finished blouse with the remaining offcuts)

after.dunkel.jpg

(the blouse from the front, with the darker pink on the outside)

after.hell.jpg

(the blouse wearing the brighter pink on the outside, and showing the open back)

Thank you for reading and have a lovely week!! See you around, cheers

(all photos are mine:)

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center