#needlework : Attempting a rolled hem - 061218

Every so often I have to make hems. This particular one is a ‘re-do’; @jen0revision was happy with the hem length of her dress, but the actual fold was too bulky. As she’s wearing the same dress again this year (yay for re-using!) we have decided to just cut the fabric (shudder) and make a rolled hem.

This photo of my main tools doesn’t show the iron or the stress involved in this process.

If you know how to do this, please turn away now…

I know have not really learnt this properly to attempt it straight away, but I found this extremely clear video tutorial so I have been ironing, cutting and sewing and taking my time.

The process is very slow and stressful, so I take breaks… I have plenty of time to complete it (famous last words).

What I would really like is to be able to use the sewing machine… So if you can recommend a good tutorial, please let me know :D

The photo above is work in progress so far.



work by @cryptocariad

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now