Old Duvet Cover Becomes New

o57lqnahxb.jpg

When I decided to change out my bed cover, I used the old duvet cover to make a new cornice board to enhance the window in one of my bedrooms. If you can measure cut and sew, this is a great way to save money and refurbish items that are already in your color scheme.

I used brown, gray, and burnt orange with a tribal design for the artwork and pillows.

I actually purchased the duvet in 2015 and here’s a photo:

cb3dnsl1te.jpg

source

A couple of years later I decided that I wanted to add a gray color to this room, but I did not want to throw the old cover away. The bedroom was a little dark so I decided to put a cornice board over the dark brown blinds to add a splash of color.

ewwtlrjetp.jpg

First I went to Home Depot and had them to cut a 1/4 inch board into three pieces. One size 80 inches and two 16 1/2 inches long.

8hl6vn0fwp.jpg

Next I used a bracket and screws to hold the boards together. I cut out a portion of the cover, about 90 inches across and 25 inches long.

sr93pn84zl.jpg

My third step was to sew the pleats even on each side to create a swag. I used a staple gun to cover the board and a decorative pin in the middle to define the center.

With the remaining material I covered the seat of an old dining room chair to use in the bedroom.

679mk632ht.jpg

I was able to use the same pillows that came with the burnt orange duvet on my new linen gray cover.

h90py0ngkn.jpg

It was a fun project and a way to upcycle, save money and add color to your windows.

6k4ubw2nod.jpg

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now