Happy World Environment Day!

I just realized it's world environment day so I thought I would make a quick post about it before I head back to work.

It hasn't been a great 6 months for outdoor and environment enthusiasts, at least politically here in the US, but that doesn't mean individual contributions have suffered.

We run a couple methods to benefit the environment here at the office. The first is a chrome extension - Ecosia - that takes over google search and contributes earnings to plant trees in various places of need (such as Madagascar) around the globe. My computer alone has contributed to ~10 trees.

The other is another extension that replaces the default tab page - Tab For a Cause. This app places ads on your tab window. Half of the profit from these ads is then donated to a variety of causes. You earn "hearts" each time the window is loaded, which are basically your votes. We've yet to vote where our contributions should be donated but it will also probably go to ease environmental issues. I've generated enough for 10 months of clean water for a person on this computer and years worth from my home PC.

What have you or your company done to help the world's environment?

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now