Hello everyone!

It's been a long time since I've written anything other than posts. Hopefully I'll be able to devote more time to our community, which really deserves it.

But first of all, to everyone who posts in our community (and elsewhere on our beloved Hive), thank you for participating and I believe it's worth it.
Not only scientifically (I am definitely not a scientist), as dated and localised observations are valuable, but also for ourselves. Not only as a hobby, but also expressed in the Hive. We need to work on that.

I've looked at some of the authors on iNaturalist and found that they don't give a location or date. While our priority is to get everything right in the Hive, it's a pity.

At the very least, there will be fewer curators willing to identify the species, and I personally would have a lot of misidentified sightings without the curators on iNaturalist.
That would make me sad, of course. While I'm mostly into birds, my more valuable and interesting observations tend to be in the insect and plant fields.
I stress that I understand that it takes time and we all have to make a living somehow, we have family, friends, other interests etc., but adding a location to iNaturalist for example is very easy.
If we take pictures at home and around the neighbourhood, there is not much to edit as we know where it was taken, even without GPS, in iNaturalist the location can be named, pinned and easily used, even if for some reason there's no GPS on the photo.

Plus, it's our business card, and our personal financial interest is in more participants on the Hive blockchain and more use of Hive/HBD.

Also, please remember to write in your profile on iNaturalist "I also post my sightings on @birdwatcher, which helps fund my hobby". Or peakd.com of course, just make sure there's a link. Maybe it'll bring someone in, who knows.

Have a nice Sunday. Enjoy!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
4 Comments