Jacks Fork River - Rocks!

SAM_2579.JPG

I love going down to the river and I love looking for unique rocks and fossils. Here are a few I've found over the last few days. I'm not any good at identifying minerals. I know it's more difficult when you can't hold them or do a scratch test, but any identification help would be very much appreciated. Enjoy!

SAM_2600.JPG
This one had a few agate stripes in it and a slight sheen of quartz.

SAM_2602.JPG
Back side of the same rock.

SAM_2603.JPG
I thought this one would make a nice polished rock. It was already partially polished by nature!

SAM_2604.JPG
Same rock

SAM_2605.JPG
This one had agate striping and quartz crystals that shone in the sunlight. I wish my camera had picked up those details better.

SAM_2606.JPG
A fossil!

SAM_2614.JPG

I'll leave you with this last one that reminds me of a rainbow. Thanks for looking! Stay tuned!

All photos by me using a Samsung WB1100F camera and edited with paint.net.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center