Oriental Garden Lizard: I become Red after winning the Battle!

Oriental garden lizards (Scientific name: Calotes versicolor) are very beautiful creatures and they have scales on their bodies which changes color and the different colors make them unique. There is science behind the colors. Let me introduce some interesting facts behind the magnificent colors. The male's head become orange to crimson and the throat black during the breeding season!

ORL

A close-up shot of the oriental garden lizard taken at my home garden at 90 mm f/8.0, ISO 250, 1/80s.

The males also become Red Headed after a succesful battle with rivals.

That is all for now. I will share some quick interesting facts again in my next post (will share a piece of my photography as well). Stay tuned.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center