My name is what? | An entry to @steemitachiever's writing contest | @kyanzieuno

name is what.png

There are so many nicknames I go by with. My family and friends call me Kayenine, Kaye, Kyan, Kyanz, Kyang², Kaki, Kayen, and whatever you want to call me. But why the username @kyanzieuno?

THE HISTORY

As you can see in my profile and when I introduced myself, my real name is Kayenine Bontor. (Yes! It's read as canine.) I was supposed to have "Kyana Kaye Bontor" as my real name according to my mom but my dad wrote Kayenine on the registry when initially he thought it will not be my final name. He was then wrong. It became my final name and once you get listed in the registry, you can't change it anymore. So my relatives would call me Kyang².

When I got to high school, my classmates would call me Kyanz and they were the only ones who can call me that. I got used to it and I honestly liked it. It was around the 2nd year or 3rd year high school that I first signed up for an email address and the most famous social media platform then was Friendster. I used the name Kyanz (which my closest friends call me) + ie (just to have that cutesy effect on my name). I also added up Uno,which means one, and since it was my first ever account. When I signed up for Steemit, I initially thought of using my current username. It means that there is only one Kyanzie in this platform and that the name is only exclusive to me.

WILL I CHANGE IT? (If given the chance?)...

Errrrmm... 🤔

Most probably, yes. I will change it to @keynayn. Many people mispronounce my name everytime they read it for the first time. I can only count those people who did it right and I feel very happy when they successfully read it once. Although I got used to people mistakenly reading my name, I still don't like how they murder it and hear my name falsely pronounced. I want them to be able to read my name correctly so my ears won't hurt anymore. I love my name Kayenine and that's what made me unique.

So, there you go guys.

My name is @kyanzieuno,
and I'm proud of my name.

Best of luck. 💖

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center