For my 156th day on Steemit - Alfa 156

One Serbian phrase says that "the first love is unforgettable", and this is my love story.

After I graduated and started to work, my very next goal was to get myself a car.
My very own car. The car that I earned.

At the top of my list was the Alfa Romeo 155, like this one:


Don't miss the video. And don't forget to turn the "volume" knob all the way to the right

But it was too early, and I was 1/2 a salary short to get the proper one.

And then I got a call, to go to Hungary and do some science I already described.
Everything was covered there + my Serbian salary.

When I returned, my appetites became bigger, and the desired 155 became 156!!!


Image from the Italian Wiki, because "centocinquantasei" sounds simply perfect

Even 21 year after it was introduced, it's still a great car, designed to please the driver.

The balance was perfect, especially for the FWD car. And as we know, FWD cars are prone to have a "heavy nose".
Alfa 156 was different. I used to do everything in the city speed limits, with the great smile.

What is the limit? 50 km/h?
Ok, I'll make a sharp turn and make my tyres squeaking - at 50 km/h (ok, 60...)
A very small roundabout? No problem, 50 :) Sqeee!
Parking, I could try to do it with 50...?

She was capable to handle anything.
The only limitations came from the tyres.

She (not "it" !!!) also gave a dose of pure refinement, that came in the form of the wooden wheel and gear lever.

History:


Alfa 156 came in 3 Phases.

1997 - 2002 models had some black elements on the front bumper and the interior typical for the middle 90's:


All the photos were taken from https://www.autoscout24.com


All the photos were taken from https://www.autoscout24.com

2002 - 2003 models have a much nicer central console, and the whole bumpers are in the same paint as the rest of the body.


All the photos were taken from https://www.autoscout24.com


All the photos were taken from https://www.autoscout24.com

This version even came with the navigation. It was very rudimentary, with the directions (arrows) that were shown on the display - but it worked.

2003-2007: In the final phase, the front headlights were changed


All the photos were taken from https://www.autoscout24.com

Our adventures:


The most southern spot where we went was Mykonos, a labyrinth of narrow, twisty streets limited by stone walls.
David August from the speakers and the sunset.

Of course, we went to Montenegro and the Bay of Kotor

The very best road we hit was the Alpine Pass Vrsic (Slovenia) with 50 hairpins.

Of course, she was my companion in Italy, and she left the tyre marks nearby the Ferrari's Museum, Lamborghini's museum, Pagani (Factory) and Rimac (yes, that car that Hammond crashed. No, not that one, the other one... Yes, he crashed a lot of them).

The farthest point to the north where we went together was Brussels and Northern France.

Pros and cons:


  • Equipment (leather trim, 2-zone automatic climatization, cruise control)
  • Handling (just superb)
  • I realy don't know

Price:


Decent examples with a good equipment can be found for about 1750 - 2000 E.
The Top GTA Versions with 250 hp can easily cost more than 10.000 E.

If you want to buy my Alfa, the price is: 1.561.561 E (not negotiable)

How many times she broke? She is Alfa...


Not a single time!
Not even a tyre puncture.

We could turn this into the challenge... #myfirstcar and the next person could be @nelkeljdm


H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center