My 2018 - This is my Hobby: Playing Musical Instruments


"Only the pure in heart can make a good soup".

-Ludwig Van Beethoven

20180325_132048.jpg

Speaking of a hobby, I have many of it but the hobby I love the most is playing the guitar. I started playing the guitar since I was in my second year high school days. Actually, my mother enrolled in a piano lesson but I did not continue it. It seems it was too boring for me and I don't feel playing a keyboard or a piano. Then I found the old acoustic of my father. I tried to push the strings with my tiny little fingers, but it suddenly gave up because of rust. The first string (e string) hits me. On that moment, I feel that I shouldn't try it again.

One day, when my father played his guitar, it really caught my attention how he did it. Then I asked him, "Pa, madali lang ba yan??? Tinamaan kasi ako ng string at saka masakit sa kamay"(Father, is that easy??? I was struck by a string and hurt my hand too). Then he replied, "Oo, lahat naman ng bagay mahirap sa una. Kailangan mo lang talaga pag-aralan muna. Walang magaling agad"(Yes, everything was hard at first. You just need to study or learn how to do it first. No one is a professional since birth or no one is perfect).

That word of wisdom by my father gave me the guts to start again playing the guitar. Since then, I always have had his acoustic guitar, and even in our school, I have been playing it for my classmates during our break time. But one day, when I am on my way to school, I am on the back ride of a tricycle. It was the very unforgettable scenario for me because of another tricycle hits the guitar of my father and BOOM!!! It was broken into pieces. 😞

I don't know what to do on that miserable day, also how to explain it to my father. When I went home, my father saw his broken guitar then he asked me what happened on his guitar. I told him the truth. I thought he would get mad at me, but I was wrong. He told me that it was okay. The guitar served him well and also me.

After that heartbreak, I decided to save money to buy a guitar. Many moons passed, I finally got my own guitar. Right after that, there was a rumour that our school was going to have a battle of the band.

I immediately invite my classmates to form a band, and we named it, "Just Kidding". We competed at the said event, and we got the first place that time and I got the award for being the best lead guitarist in our school.

After that event, our school officers made a meeting for those who got the special award to create our school band to compete for the upcoming battle of the band junior high school competition that will be held on Robinson's Mall that time.

We competed at the said event and got the first place. It wasn't bad for us, especially to me because I only want to experience playing my guitar in front of many people. It was really good and to showcase my talent to the crowd.

When I graduated at the secondary level, I continue playing the guitar, despite my busy schedule because I was on my tertiary level.

My cousin and I formed a band to make income. I play the lead guitar, Liann B. Dilla was our second voice vocalist, Jay Llanes plays the beatbox, my cousin plays the rhythm guitar, and Jonas Llanes was our main vocalist. We were playing at birthday parties, weddings and special events.

But it did not last because our main vocalist died in a motor accident.

Right after the accident, we decided to disband and must focus first on our career in life. As of today, my cousin, Emmanuel Kennedy Q. Timog is a registered nurse, and I am now a professional teacher.

I think our last performance was in the year 2013. It has been 5 years since I've focused on my job. But there's something missing, I missed to play the guitar! Sadly, I don't have any bandmates anymore. My cousin was too busy with his own family and on his career as a nurse. Also, Jay and Liann went abroad.

Many years passed, I met the students from Los Baños National High School-Batong Malake who made a band. They are youngsters who also love music and I see myself to them.

One of their bandmates was once my student which Mark Lester Alinea (@marklester23) at Bernaldo N.Calara Integrated National High School who was seeking help and guide them to compete for the battle of the bands in their school. I helped them voluntarily because I love to see talents like them especially with a heart for music. This band makes me remembered my previous band when I was on high school. They have also the fire in their eyes. I am gladly that I crossed paths with these students.

Furthermore, I also made blogs about these kids. If you haven't read yet, here is the link:

Back to the track, I found new bandmates, and that was my co-teachers. Our band name, "The Class Record" because of our profession. We compute grades by mean using a class record as an assessment tool.

In this band, I also the lead guitarist, Andrew John A. Tamban (@andrewjohntamban) is our main vocalist, Maria Christina Magano (@jasminsolinap) is the bassist, and Dwane P. Arboleda is our drummer. We always have our intermission number in every event in our school. By this, I continue doing my hobby. I am very lucky to meet these people and be in their community.

In addition, the perks of loving the music especially playing the guitar was meeting people, but not just people who do loves music too but a celebrity band in the Philippines.

This is the main vocalist, "Dyugi", of an iconic band in the Philippines which is "Itchyworms". I am their fan since I was 13 years old. They made a lot of songs. One of those I truly love is the " Ayokong Tumanda". The song would want to deliver the listener that they don't want to get old if they didn't have their loved ones in their life.

This is their official video of the song "Ayokong Tumanda"


source

As of today, I continuously am playing my guitar, but not just an acoustic guitar, but I bought an electric guitar and bass guitar, also drums.

I want to extend my hobby in terms of music. I will enhance this skill that God gave. My love for the music will never fade. I want to share my skill for those who want to learn. Music is not just music, it is an organized noise. Let our noise be heard in this vast universe! But before I end this blog, let me share you my hobby.

Here are some examples of my hobby:

Me while playing my drumset.


source: The LuckyBastard

Me while playing guitar | Careless Whisper | More than words | Every breath you take | Sweet Child O' Mine.


source: The LuckyBastard

Me while playing bass guitar | Play that Funky Music | Hinahanap-hanap kita | Hallelujah.

source: The LuckyBastard

So there you go! I hope you've enjoyed reading this blog. See you around steemians! Keep rockin'! 🎸🎼🎶🎙


I want to extend my gratitude to @anomadsoul for allowing us to join this kind of contest. If you want to join this contest, please click the link below:
CONTEST: My 2018-This is my Hobby | 100 SBD in prizes!


received_1869973523021894.gif

greatestbastard.jpg

received_10211352482991637.gif

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now