MY FIRST ENCOUNTER WITH A DEAD HUMAN BODY: MY NICHE

First of all, I'll like to use this opportunity to thank @awolesigideon for organizing this contest.

MY STORY
My First Encounter With A Dead Human Body

My name is Bright @brightex and I'm a medical student in my penultimate year. During the course of training in medical school, one of the courses offered in the pre-clinical class is Human Anatomy. This is a course that studies the gross structures of the human body and in order to get better understanding of the body and not just using pictures from textbooks, we engage in practical sessions. This involves cutting open cadavers (dead bodies) and comparing the structures seen with what is in the textbooks.

Pre-medical days

Before I became I medical student, I had always had this fear for dead human bodies. Heard a lot of terrific stories, even heard that most medical students on their first practical sessions do faint. All these stories sent down thrills all over my body. My parents don't even allow us go for burials then, I literally couldn't even look at a coffin, yes it was that bad.

The D day

The day finally came for us to begin our practicals, so many events running through my mind. The anticipation, the thought of how I will even touch the bodies was something else. We were divided into groups each group having about 10 students. Then we went into the dissection room. The bodies were all lying on the dissecting tables waiting for us. The body to which we were assigned to was a very muscular man, maybe one of those capons before he was killed (as they were mostly criminals). I was the first to put the scalpel (dissecting knife) through the body, and I couldn't believe I was doing what I was doing. We started opening, first with the upper limbs and everything seemed normal, maybe because we were many in there. The practical session ended and the worse happened. Continue reading
IMG_20180223_211647_956.JPG my classmates and I waiting to be ushered into the dissection room

Aftermath

Later that day, around 9:00pm I was in my room and couldn't help but see the images of the body I dissected. This made me very afraid. As if planned, all my roommates then decided to go for night class that night (I'm not really the night class type), leaving me alone in the room. After they had left, the thoughts again came. This time more intense. Like I was literally seeing the body in front of me. My imaginations really really dealt with me.
How I struggled and passed that night was a miracle.

After a number of the practicals though, I got used to it. But the experience is not one I can forget that easily.
Thanks

To participate in the contest, use the link below;
https://steemit.com/contest/@awolesigideon/my-niche-contest-1-winners-my-niche-contest-2

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now