Music Monday: Punk, Post Punk, I Don't Know - Whatever.

I'm a big fan of post punk - I like the rolling bass lines, the rawness of it, the oft anger at politics and society. I'm still uncertain about the lines of this genre, as officially it's that period between the late 70's and mid 80's - but then perhaps we can just say that post punk is not dead. Or we're now into something like post post post post punk. Or maybe everything else is punk and what isn't quite punk is post punk. Who knows. Genre labelling can suck sometimes. Whatever.


image.png

I love The Fall - vale Mark E Smith. I loved watching him play in Melbourne, sputtering angry cantankerous contemptuous lyrics read from a crumpled piece of paper brought out from his great coat. I loved his disregard for everyone and everything. That gig made me just warm and fuzzy all over - that was sooo punk. Or post punk. Or what the fuck ever. It was great.

Here's Constant Mongrel from Melbourne. Not sure about the whole album, but liked this on the radio t'other day. One reviewer said that this album: "the focused fury of clanging guitars, the bleating, unravelling blares of sax, the blink-and-they’re-over Fall-ish blasts of keyboard and the bleary, jaundiced excellence of the vocal delivery. If you crossed Joy Division with the blunt force of Eddy Current Suppression Ring and the Dead Boys, it might sound a little like this." - I don't know about the Joy Division reference but I can see the link with ECSR - but it's produced the the label Antifade which is Mike Young from ECSR so ....Anyway, very Melbourne, very lyrically political.

And so here's a bit of Mark E Smith and the Fall - I'm going for Mr Pharmacist as I have the worst anxiety right now and am just thinking of what pills I can take to ease it. I won't, and I'll go for herbs, but doesn't mean I'm not thinking about it.

I love the comment from one Youtube comic. You can't argue with a scientist.

I am a scientist, the best and most trusted there is, and I have proven that The Fall are the greatest thing to ever have happened to this planet. You should respect my authority.

I don't even know if anyone listens to these tunes or even reads these posts, so I'm gonna just drop this album here rather than selecting a song. It's another Melbourne outfit called Total Control, which I think are a bit better than Constant Mongrel - they are shit live but this album's pretty good.



https://gateway.ipfs.io/ipfs/QmU9f4FK9j91cnUGYk9hnMXuYdAFcnF6ekkpXZ5DfiByfG

B2235A50C31CD126067343B513524EE62.gif


NaturalMedicineBanner.jpg
Join us on Natural Medicine Discord here

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now