Overdriving the Modular

I've been doing a lot more live sound design DURING my improvised modular sets recently and find myself reaching for more patch cables a lot more often...

TDC Tunes Cable Selection.JPG

And with my quest to extend Summer in mind too, I've been thinking about ways to add warmth.

In this clip there is quite a lot going on:

Specifically:

  • Use of sine wave beeps - this was a suggestion from @stickupmusic and I guess the thinking is: clean pure sounds = summery
  • Lots and lots of wavefolding - I have a couple of different modules able to do this and I think the buzz it adds reminds me of a warm summer evening.
  • Use of overdrive - I used this a lot in the set on the main lead sound as it creates a lot of... let's call it: "Fuzziness" (Fuzziness = warmth? - discuss!)

New Overdrive Module!

I have a new module which is (mostly) there to provide a rich and warm overdrive circuit.

It's a Music Thing Modular Mini Drive and comes in kit form, though it was a simple one to build - taking a total of 24 minutes. I'm working on a post about the process and specifically demoing the sound to publish soon.

Finally

Wishing everyone on Hive a warm, overdriven and fuzzy Tuesday! And above all, Happy Summer!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
7 Comments
Ecency