Why I'm extending summer 2021 all the way to Spring 2022!

My Summer All Winter Challenge

Did you notice my summer posts and wonder what on earth I'm doing?
Well... it's Day 7. Time to take stock and talk about what it means and why...

The Challenge

Do something to keep summer going every day till Spring 2022

Examples - wearing a summer shirt, drinking a summery drink, doing something outside - working, picnic-ing, going to the beach etc. Anything goes as long as it invokes some kind of summer feeling.

A recap of my efforts over the first 6 days:

First 6 Days Summer All Winter.JPG

Ok. But WHY?

A whole bunch of reasons, some of the details of which I haven't fully formulated yet, but here's the main ones:

  • It is positive, bringing something bright to every single day.
  • It will force me to be creative in different ways!
  • It promotes getting outdoors - something that's good for me (and everyone)!
  • It's a bit of fun!
  • My gut feeling is that it's just something I really want to do!

More seriously, all of the above tie in with mental health and mental health awareness - which I will no doubt talk more on during the many many months of summer ahead of us.

Wait, don't you Brits just like talking about the weather?

Well yeah, there is that... I guess that's the fun side. I'm going to have an excuse to talk about the weather every single day (not that I need one being British).

And I'm sure everyone in the UK agrees: Summer 2021 was rubbish - so it must be extended!

Doesn't the world have bigger problems than the British summer being a bit wet this year?

Yes. I'm aware that I'm very lucky indeed to be in a position where I can 'complain' about the weather enough to do a whole challenge based on that.

I won't be forgetting this and hope that the positivity it brings out in me will have a knock on effect on those around me and who I interact with.

Are you just doing this for the sake of social media?

Well, no.

I had the idea when I was joking around with someone in a cafe about how we'd missed most of summer. Somehow my brain went from there to the extreme of suggesting I was going to extend summer, for myself and for the whole street!

So - I would be doing this anyway (around my neighbourhood) - though I suppose posting about it does take it to another level.

Isn't this a bit like Project ___ ?

There is certainly some synergy with the #IAmAliveChallenge from @flaxz - this is a great project and initiative - and I really recommend checking it out if you are looking for something to promote daily positiveness!

I'm also reminded of the music project "Make Me Beautiful" - recently from the @stickupboys - about promoting body positivity, a whole bunch of people came together to produce 9 completely varied versions of the song - fun was had, and more importantly both awareness and money were raised! And of course, being them they had gifs for it...

be positive.gif

There are probably similarities with other projects and challenges that I'm not yet familiar with. If there are I'd love to hear about them - let me know!

Get onboard

If you fancy joining my challenge - even if it's just for one rainy day when you chose to bring a bit of sunshine to the day by wearing yellow, go for it - the more the merrier! Let me know in the comments of this or any of my other posts!

I'm also open to suggestions of other ways I could extend summer during this challenge!

For now though I'll leave you with:

😎 HAPPY SUMMER HIVE - it's just getting started! 😎

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
12 Comments
Ecency