Interview with Tao Zhen (陶桢, electronic musician and bass player from Shanghai)

Tao Zhen is an interesting musician from Shanghai. You could've heard a bit of his music on compilation album by playreclabel (Wang Changcun and Xu Cheng label) and occasionally on live perfomances with his wife (Li Huihui, 李慧慧, also a very talented person). Here's an interview in which he explains his affection to upright stand instruments and explains why he decided to make music for games (unrelated to previous post. Kind of a coincidence).

雪的猫
So let's start with your instruments! Except of cello and double bass what instruments do you play?

Tao Zhen
I was into metal music in high school. When i was in the second grade i found Jimi Hendrix's recording «Jimi Plays Monterey», so I taught myself to play electric guitar, that was my first instrument. Before that I had listened to some jazz music: Chet Baker, Weather Report, Miles Davis, and I also tried to transcribe Joe Pass. At that time, 2005, the Jazz department was set up, but there was no jazz guitar course, only bass, so I began to study bass. I was lucky to grow up when chinese internet was developing, it helped me to find a lot of tutorials and information about music.

During my first year in the conservatory I was interested in avant-garde and noise, but it was harmful for my traditional music learning, so I tried to focus on standard, bebop, modal jazz for the rest of my studying. But I was lucky, Notch music festival was held in those 4 years, that was the first time I had the chance to listen to some good jazz bands from North Europe, bands like The Thing, Supersilent, Shining. What I enjoyed the most in The Thing was their bassist's violent style, it just killed me. And we also had the opportunity to listen to some Japanese avant-garde musicians too. Sweet years for music.

I'm not suited to Commerical Jazz Bar performing, so after graduation i had a lot of different jobs: hostel reception, commercial musician's assistant, commercial music editor, and now I am making the soundtrack for a game.

Besides my jobs, I practice and compose. It feeds me.

2012 was the year when I first started recording electronic music, I even sold my better double bass to buy a Macbook Pro and some equipment. Until 2016, I was all about synthesizers, sequencers were my best friends at that time. But later i realized that it is just a stylization, it couldn't help me to do the things I wanted to do, so I decided to play real instruments again. I can't play as well as before, so i treat my bass like a synth. And it's more flexible (in some aspects) than any synthesizer. In 2016, I was also into programming music, I've learned max/msp myself and programmed a track about interrelationship between harmonics.

The double bass for me is very special, because I haven't played bass for 2 years, so when i picked it up again I knew why I felt devastated: my hands felt literally empty, they were lonely. This year I began to practice bass every morning before I go to work, sometimes only for 10-20 minutes, but it makes sense. Now I practice with cello more, it's also upright and I can work with my soundtrack on it. Bass is not good for a melodic stuff. Anyway, I don't mind making music for commercials and games, I always try to have fun with composing.

雪的猫
When i first heard your EP i suddenly remembered this album by Charles Mingus. It was some strange avantgarde stuff... Were there any Mingus influences?

Tao Zhen
No, I haven’t been influenced by him here, but i like the kind of person he was. I am more influenced by Larry Grenediar. He plays for Brad Mehldau trio and Fly trio.

雪的猫
So, was it just an improvisation that you recorded for some reason? And why this album is so short?

Tao Zhen
This music was made for my wife's short film. I just finished it in 15 mins, and cause I had to perform on oct 5, I thought it'd be nice to create a page on bandcamp to introduce myself. That’s how it was made. I am still embarrassed about sharing my improvisation, haha.

雪的猫
Do you know any other double bass players in China?

Tao Zhen
I haven't followed jazz too much. But I know a very young drum player who's now studying in Munich. His name is Xu Zhitong.

雪的猫
Wow! Do you think he has a bright future? Is he a jazz musician?

Tao Zhen
Yup, but he would better extend another genre. He can be a traditional master

雪的猫
Yeah, jazz is out of date sadly... It's hard to find any good jazz bands lately. And the ones that are good, these ones overcame jazz and started to play the postmodern stuff. Like the band Plaistow. Or Norwegian musicians

Tao Zhen
You are right. Norwegian Jazz was great, but it was ten years ago. I visited New York last year and I think that New York Jazz is also fading. I visited Villiage Vanguard, that is just like a famous sight now. Watched the performances of Ravi Coltrane quartet and John Zorn. Same boring shit. They played old stuff year by year. But some new genres which derived from jazz are really great.

雪的猫
What do you think about USA and China? Which country do you like the most?

Tao Zhen
I don't know, China is pretty safe. New York is safe too. A lot of police there. But people are not friendly in big cities.

雪的猫
I've never been to NY, but i guess you are right... Yeah, big cities are always like that. Is Shanghai friendly?

Tao Zhen
Yes. Shanghai is good, but very expensive.

雪的猫
Any chances to hear your new music soon?

Tao Zhen
I am going to record some new music with my double bass. I will use ableton live to sample it and I will record some synth with the track and the drums. But I also don't want to kill the original acoustic of the recording, it should be fun

[photo taken from artist's bandcamp - https://taozhen.bandcamp.com/releases]

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center