Personal Story With A Soundtrack - The World is Quiet On New Year´s Day

nyd.jpg

I am a man of rituals, not too crazy strict, not yet stuck in my ways. Still, who knows one day?
But Not Today!


Today is New Year's Day and I don´t have many rituals regarding these end-of-year festivities, except for this one.

Starting January 1st with the same song every year. And I am not sure to whom I am saying "I will be with you again." What I do know is that I really enjoy that quiet morning having this pumping through my speakers.

U2 - New Year´s Day

Of course, swapping a 2 for a 3 does not clean the slate. It is just another Sunday Morning. Nothing about this day will make it easier to start exercising more and drinking less. It´s just a wasted year so close behind, and the slightest bit of hopium that this year might be better.

The Velvet Underground - Sunday Morning

Our mind works in funny ways, and we are masters in fooling ourselves. Combine those two and you might actually believe that stepping into that new year will bring all those changes you have been dreaming about for so long.

I prefer to focus on the little things in life, even though I need to keep telling myself I do get better at it. Just a cool breeze at the end of a warm spring day, a nice cold tasty drink, or discovering another amazing musical gem....or just recovering one I did not listen to in ages.

It is all in your mind.

Jamie Cullum - Mind Trick

Life is what happens while you are making plans, so should I stop making them? Should I do the frozen thingy and let it go? Or Be Like Bruce & Be Like Water?
I guess I have no choice, as I don´t have insta and I don´t use filters I can only be like me.

Acda en de Munnik - Laat me slapen

Me is fine, Me is making plans, Me is letting go and Me is flowing through life like water. Sometimes surfing its waves, sometimes being wrestled to the ground by a wave that was just a couple of sizes too big.

When I am done choking due to the saltwater I inhaled there is not really a choice. You just have to get up, and when you´re lucky someone pulls you up. But once up you need to stand on your own two feet again.

Own Two Feet - glenn&ronan

There is a road ahead, and I have a plan....not sure if I will stick to it or make a new one. It does not matter how things play out, it matters how I play. And over time I am learning to commitment and dedication need to be accompanied by joy and acceptance.

That is my New Year´s Day resolution right there embrace the pretty little things in life, enjoy the beauty of all the small things that I used to run past. And accept that I am only human, that I can have goals, but that it´s the journey that matters.

PANIK POP - LIFE IS A JOURNEY (feat. JOKE)

Next year might be better and could get worse; replacing a 2 with a 3 will not change that. Today is New Year´s Day and I started this year the right way enjoying a couple of great songs while sitting on my little balcony looking at the Snowy Peaks of the Sierra Nevada.

That´s a Happy New Year & I hope it gave you a great start as well Dear Reader!

Source Picture

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center