Midnight Gems Europapa Special - "Where are my Douze Hive Points going?"

Every Day A Different Story (30).gif

For those of you who are new to my MidNight Gems series. Welcome to this nightly trip on which we will uncover & recover some amazing songs & covers.

Last week I did this creepy ghostly monsterous good set. But to balance it out let me do something a bit more mainstream tonight.

Just FYI if you don´t want to miss a show let me know in the comments and I add you to the tag list.


music small.svg

For those who did not notice I like music, a lot. And I like a lot of different kinds of music.... I guess by the title you already know where I am going don´t you Dear Reader?

It´s that time of year, Euro(guilty pleasure)vision time. Although I think the guilty pleasure days are behind us. It´s truly a spectacle that brings a bit of everything.

Many Eurovision artists have been featured in My Midnight Gems sessions before and I did another special once before.

But this is the first time I will give points for Hivians. Following the rules I can give away 1-8 points and then 10 & 12 points

Starting with the song that is gonna get the first ever point:

One Point - Portugal - Iolanda - Grito

You don´t get points for being cute but it helps, but that voice and that bombastic built up. Well, you know me I am a sucker for epic-sounding songs.

Two Points - Czechia - Aiko - Pedestal jj

It has a bit that TaTu vibe, mixed with a bit of Breeders while she looks like Courtney from Hole.

Not Bad at all!

Three Points - Belgium - Mustii - Before the Party's Over

Of course, my dearly beloved Belgium deserves a place and Mustii is really just a bit different while still sounding sort of normal. Great over-the-top tune but why then only 3 points??

Four Points - Greece - Marina Satti - Zari

Live she was not that great so she dropped a bit in my list but I love this song. The combination of club, Arabic, and Greek makes me hungry. This would (almost) get me dancing!

Five Points - Ukraine - Alyona Alyona & Jerry Heil - Teresa & Maria

But does it beat this bombastic and beautiful mix of modern and classic sounds? I know this is no political concert but I have the feeling that since the war I really learned the difference between Russian and Ukrainian tongue.

Six Points San Marino - Megara - 11:11

Well probably because the Party ain't over till this lady sings. Damn, this is a blast, normally we laugh at San Marino but this is Rock & Roll again maybe I need to move this up a notch.

Seven Points - Switzerland - Nemo - The Code

This was just crazy good, that guy moves, sings, and makes this blasting song sound easy. This is the stuff I watch this festival for.

Eight Points - Croatia - Baby Lasagna - Rim Tim Tagi Dim

Okay four points for his name and song title, I love Pirate Metal and Rammstein so this hits home. And Whooo Ooooh that Chorus.

Ten Points - Norway - Gate - Ulveham

I almost got bored and then it happened, Bjork meets a bit of Goth Metal, and that Kate Bush witching feel. This has it all for me, what can be better than Gate?

#### Douze Points - Ireland - Bambie Thug - Doomsday

Call yourself Bambi and sing the Doomsday blues dressed up as a wicked witch bitch, those who follow my Midnight Gems should have seen this coming.

This is three minutes of pure joy, that grabbed me, pulled me in, and didn´t let me go....even not in my dreams...nightmares.

I just can´t get enough please let this be #1 in 2024!

Encore

I am still Dutch at heart so I hope he wins but not allowed to give my own country points. I am going out with a Bang, or better put many bang bang Bangs.

Not everyone made it, sorry Belgium.
But My Top 5 is through to the final, and only 3/11 I liked did not make it.
What The Fluff does that say about me, and my taste in Music? Or has Televoting Europe a better taste than expected?

And remember no politics, so why did Israel get 37% of the votes in Italy?


Youtube Playlist.

All these gems were added to this week´s YouTube playlist.

All Midnight Gems Playlist can be found here

Spotify Playlist:

The Spotify playlist might not capture the whole show but is meant to represent it as well as Spotify makes it possible:

music small.svg

Riddle Me This

Guess What, my riddle was so easy and still @Bozz had no problem with the timezone to snatch up the boost and the honor!

What the fluff is Midnight Gems?

Somewhere lost in time, trying to escape out of the rabbit hole back into the rat race there is a vacuum..... that´s the place where midnight gems are found.

My Midnight Gems will try to uncover & recover those beautiful songs that nobody ever noticed or might have been forgotten.

Who the fluff am I?

Being a former DJ playing about everything and having an uncompleted study of radio journalism. I have been wanting to do this for years...Thought about it many nights and guess now it´s time to finally take it to the streets.

Hope you enjoyed this well-known wave of fantastic music and that you still feel like joining me on the next Midnight Gems Session coming soon.

Tag List

@beeber @mypathtofire @johannapeguero

music small.svg

Source Pic
Source Pic
Source Pic

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now