Jack White Wants Phones Tucked Away At His Concerts

Multi-instrumentalist, songwriter, singer, and producer Jack White has been pretty vocal on a recent Conan appearance about cellphones at his concerts. Seems he doesn't want the audience recording, snapping, texting, or anything involving a screen during the live performances on his upcoming tour. I'm not exactly sure what the consequences are for not following the rules, but I'm of the camp that technology is here and it's not going anywhere. "Banning" it in something like a venue seems like a little much. While I'm not the type to experience the live shows I attend through my iPhone screen, I really only see it as an etiquette issue, which I think is a much more arguable stance, rather than trying to force the change upon the audience with the letters B, A, and N. Lastly, I feel like this is only something Jack White can get away with considering his audience doesn't typically consist of the youngest, most technology-dependent wing of the millennial generation. If Jack's audience had a sixty or seventy percent crossover with, let's say, the 1975, this ask would be a total pipe dream.

Those are my thoughts on it anyway. What's your take on cellphones at concerts? Do you take a lot of video and pictures at shows, or do you prefer to keep the experience tucked away in your brain? All thoughtful responses will be upvoted, and thanks for reading!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center