Ten Albums which changed my life - Part Final

Following on from parts one and two of my Top 10 Albums of all time … part one here and part two here … I am going to try complete the last six albums here in Part Three, only offering one song per album.

Songs of Love and Hate – Leonard Cohen

It is difficult for me to recall which Cohen album first hooked me but he has remained an integral part of my music experiences for decades.

Famous Blue Raincoat
Ah, the last time we saw you you looked so much older
Your famous blue raincoat was torn at the shoulder
You'd been to the station to meet every train
And you came home without Lili Marlene

And you treated my woman to a flake of your life
And when she came back she was nobody's wife.

Well I see you there with the rose in your teeth
One more thin gypsy thief
Well I see Jane's awake

She sends her regards.

And what can I tell you my brother, my killer
What can I possibly say?
I guess that I miss you, I guess I forgive you
I'm glad you stood in my way.

If you ever come by here, for Jane or for me
Your enemy is sleeping, and his woman is free.

Lyrics Credits

While serving in the army on the border Leonard was a constant companion… strange dark somber music for youngsters but it resonated with both English and Afrikaans troops.

A Night at the Opera

In my opinion not their best… but certainly the album which had a huge influence on myself and my friends… as well as the pop charts. We all know Bohemian Rhapsody so let’s do another which I feel is genius…

Seaside Rendezvous
Amazing ditty … from the vocals to the harmonizing and the musicianship….

Led Zeppelin IV

No doubt about it… one of the most influential albums ever released… we all know Stairway to Heaven. Well here’s the second biggest commercial hit from the album.

Black Dog
I am struggling to find any albums outside the 70’s and 80’s which really made a meaningful impact on my music experience, the closest is possibly Buckcherry who I discovered around 2006 and they were the direct result of me exploring bands like Hinder, Socialburn and Chevelle… so they sneak into the top 10 by the backdoor …. So to speak

15 – Buckcherry


Crazy Bitch

Dark Side of the Moon – Pink Floyd

Astral Weeks rival for number one in my top album selections… not a mediocre track and has aged better than a good whiskey. I am sure this band features in most peoples lists and need no introduction.

Breathe

It is such a shame to only have one track from the album…. I feel like cutting my wrists having to make a choice

Jesus Christ Superstar – Andrew Lloyd Weber

Another album I have played into a coma… and recently had to purchase another copy. The stage sound track was by far superior to the movie soundtrack.

Gethsemane
Ian Gillan , he of Deep Purple fame on vocals !! If you have never listened to this album give it a listen…. Make it a bucket list item…. No religion required… the musicianship and arrangements are phenomenal.

Well that it done then ... No place for Fleetwood Mac's Rumours or David Bowie's Alladinsane and U2's War ....the lsit could go on forever... How I did not include Chris De Burgh's Spanish Train and Other Stories I do not know.

Thanks for stopping by and the support ... much appreciated.

Meanwhile, love your loved ones, live mindfully and be safe!!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center