E.T. The Extra Terrestrial - Soundtrack Picture Disc Album

Now that I've got my record collection out of boxes and accessible, let's dig in to the stack and see what we come up with...

1000002178.jpg

1000002180.jpg

Yep, it's that little space-guy-thingy that got lost and ended up on earth of all places 🤣

E.T. The Extra Terrestrial was a blockbuster movie that came out in 1982. I believe it became the model for product placement in movies as well, launching the relatively new candy, Reese's Pieces into super popularity with a sales increase of approx. 300%!

Anyhow, back to the music. When I was heavy into collecting records, one of the things I loved was a picture disc. They were were fairly rare so when I would find one at a record store or record show I would buy it if I had even the slightest interest in the music.

I was a kid when this movie was released and being the blockbuster it was I was a fan, so when I saw this for sale I picked it up.
1000002179.jpg

As you can see below, the original plastic it came in is disintegrating, so time to get rid of that. Also there are no markings on the record at all, not even side 1 and side 2 xD
1000002170.jpg
I've found the website https://www.discogs.com/ to be very helpful in identifying record release dates and giving a tin of info on all the different variations a certain album was rereleased in, be it vinyl, cd, or cassette.

While I was there today reading about this release I found this comment about the record...

image.png
Wow! That's funny. I was not going to play this record today as I'm not really a fan of listening to movie music without watching the movie, but after reading this I had to play it.

1000002177.gif

The funny thing is, these people are right! I just played the first side and the sound quality is trash. So many pops and clicks and it even sort of warbles in parts. Damn piece of shit 😂

Checking ebay it looks like I could maybe get $20 for this, so I'll just hold on to it for now. Maybe some ET loving rube will cross my path one day and I can unload it on them xD

image.png

Have a spaced out day, friends :D

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center