Performing at the Arlesey open mic

Last night was our monthly open mic at The White Horse in #Arlesey. This is something I helped to kick off a few years ago and now we have a great crowd of regulars and the odd visitor. This time there were 14 acts on the bill with three songs each and then we went round again for a couple more each until they threw us out.

White Horse
Picture by me

I actually performed in several combinations. One of those was in a band formed by several of the regulars, but I have to say we didn't do our best performance and so I'm not sharing that today to spare the blushes of my bandmates. I hope you enjoy these anyway.

Firstly I was accompanying clarinetist Danielle for some jazzy tunes that included All Of Me. I just have to play the chords and I really must learn more versions of those so I can mix it up a little more.

In my solo set I did a couple of Police songs as I they suit my Telecaster that I was using for the band stuff. For Roxanne I needed some backing vocals, so I called up a couple of our star singers. I didn't actually tell them what the song was, but they knew what to do.

I also did one of my own songs that you may have heard before. I'd posted a few versions of this, including at Steemfest last year.

It's always a fun night. It's great to have people singing along and dancing when you play. I had a couple of people say nice things about my performance. To be honest some of the performers are professional level and I'm honoured they are happy to be on the same bill as me.

Rock on and support live music.


Meet me at SteemFest 2018 in Kraków

I'm Steve, the geeky guitarist.

Spam comments may be flagged. Beware of the Commentphant!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
9 Comments
Ecency