A Scarf on Sunday: Freddie Mercury Tribute 1992

Freddie Mercury died from consequences of AIDS on 24th November 1991. He was one of the greatest showmen in rock and is sadly missed. I was lucky to see him perform with #Queen twice. At the Brit awards the following February Brian May and Roger Taylor announced that there would be a concert to pay tribute to him. We nabbed tickets as soon as they became available. We probably had to phone up to do that back then.

The concert was at Wembley Stadium where I saw Queen on the Kind of Magic tour. I am not sure if there was much merchandise available, but I think they gave out these scarves. It has AIDS Awareness on the other side.

Scarf

My other half and I ended up a fair way back in the stadium, but then she does not like to get caught up in the crowd too much.

I remember a fair few of the performances that day. Extreme did an excellect Queen Medley. I think Def Leppard were pretty good. Spinal Tap had issues getting started. Guns N Roses rocked and having Axl do Bohemian Rhapsody with Elton John was hilarious. Elizabeth Taylor did a speech. David Bowie and Annie Lennox did Under Pressure. I have seen that song done so many ways by Queen, Bowie and others. Looking at the running list there are some I do not really remember, but it is nearly 30 years ago. I do not have any photos of the day.

It is sad that George Michael is also gone.

We still have a ticket.

Ticket

It was quite a day. Obviously we sang along to everything. I have never seen so many big names in a day before or since.

#ShirtOnSunday is an excuse to post about (mostly) shirts that bring back memories of events or places. @hockney started this and has done loads of them.

The geeky guitarist and facilitator of the 10K Minnows Project.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
6 Comments
Ecency