Music: A Pre-Valentine Date With Shane Filan of Westlife

Flying Without Wings? Soledad? Uptown Girl? My Love?

If you are a 90’s kid, I am sure you are singing those Westlife songs. Westlife is an Irish boyband composed of Nicky Byrne, Kian Egan, Mark Feehily, and Shane Filan. They are pretty popular here in the Philippines. They even had a concert four years ago. Too bad I missed the chance.

P_20180209_185804.jpg).

P_20180209_171158.jpg

But when news of Shane Filan having a new album and has several more tours, I alerted my friends on social media. And Rex Basical who happens to work in Robinsons Manila where the concert will be held forced me (pwersahan talaga besh) to join him. We missed each others birthday so it would be a a pre-Valentine date with Shane Filan. Fanboying and fangirling activate.

27783080_10210432726366571_2062775585_n.jpg

Rex secured his pass as an iTunes winner. He bought two CDs (yaman ni Mayor) to get two more pass for me and Iyah Estacio. And he presented another worth P1000 receipt to get a yellow pass (an Iphone X receipt, mind you) and lucky Megan Arcena got it.

It was two to three hours from Rodriguez, Rizal to Manila. It was Friday and traffic much. I was nervous and excited. Fangirling is not new to me. I’m a football fangirl who watch even international away games, Toni-Piolo fan who, Hero-Sandara shipper, and an avid of Paulo Avelino, Joem Bascon and Sandino Martin. But this is Shane Final, ladies and gentlemen. He is a part of my teen years.

27939041_10210433997678353_1324413714_n.jpg

With my blue baller, we waited for two hours enter the events area. Westlife fans were raving about him. Some even came from the province. Some even brought their kids. I was joined with Iyah at the right side of the venue. I met this girl who is more excited than her mom.
Chico Machito of iFM was the program’s host. They started with Shane’s meet and greet with the iTunes winner and those with receipt.

Then Sitti, Philippines bossa nova queen performed her hit song Para sa akin and her new single that you can buy on iTunes. Her new single is electronic pop but it would be great for parties. She also has a collaboration with Shane Filan. She’s one lucky fangirl who was able to collaborate with her idol. Haba ng hair. (I will post Sitti's fangirl dream come true. So follow me @sofiaphr)

27858387_1601321329904594_1507679277127906548_n.jpg

When Shane went up on stage, the audience lost it. Everyone got their phones and huge cameras out to capture the moment of Shane Filan performing. In the end, I had to stop taking videos and just enjoy the moment.
He started with his new original song from his album Unbreakable.

Followed by Westlife’s My Love and everyone raised their hands while swaying to the song. Then Beautiful in White, a part of his album, is the song he sang to his wife during their wedding. Lucky wifey.

Shane sings My Love, a favorite of mine.

Later on, Sitti returned on stage to sing a duet with Shane, Need You Now by Lady Antebellum. It was soooo perfect. I could feel Sitti’s kilig specially when they hugged. The song is also part of Shane’s album.

We were lucky because he sang another Westlife song which was Uptown Girl before the meet and greet. I stopped taking videos by then. I justed belt out the song with all my heart.

27849324_10210433997718354_1725961597_n.jpg

I gave Shane a postcard of Northern Palawan which I love soooo much with a wish that he would visit the place. Then when it was my turn to greet him, I was starstruck. I just said “Congratulations!” and he said “Thank you” while staring at me while smiling. Looks like he still wants to chat but the guards are giving me “the look”. I hope the official photographer took nice pictures of us.

27655540_2066941833321630_2038737401427676451_n.jpg

This is the best my friend Rex could come up with. Hahaha! Blame this starstruck girl. Shane Filan is so gorgeous. Didn't look like he aged much.

27848580_1601269826576411_379342357_n.jpg
Luckily, Iyah got her own photo with Shane. Lucky girl.

Guys, hope you’ll buy Shane’s album. He’ll be in Robinson’s Place Cebu on February 10 and Robinson’s Place Magnolia (Aurora Boulevard near Gilmore Station) on Febuary 11. Please secure your CDs or receipt earlier because they are easily sold out. You can also show P1000 single receipt on all Robinsons Magnolia and Cebu store on the day of the event so you can join the show and get the chance to meet and greet Shane. He'll be on ASAP tomorrow, too.

Thank you, Shane and MCA Universal for bringing him here. All my teenage feels came back. I wanna cry and fall in love again with Shane’s songs. Hayssss!!! Don’t miss your chance, beshies.

P_20180209_185830.jpg
He has a dozen songs on his album. All lovely and will give you all the feels.

I will try to upload the videos of their other performances on my other blogs. Please follow me: @sofiajade. Don’t forget to upvote, resteem this post or share it on your Twitter and Facebook and tag your Westlife friendsssss. Please leave a comment if you are a fangirl or a fanboy. Let's all relive the kilig.

#shanefilanph #ShaneatRobinsons

*Some photos owned by Rex Basical and Iyah Estacio. My memory card was corrupted. Huhuhubels!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center