Throwback Tribute: YELLOWCARD Final Tour PH

Slow steady hands waving their last goodbye
They've come a long way
They've carried me,
they've carried me through waking dreams


Hello, Steemit! Today, I am going to deviate from the all-too-poetic stunts I have been pulling these past few days. It's February 10 and today just marks one of the most memorable spots in my timeline. A year ago today, I went to my first concert ever (!!!) and witnessed the final show of one of my most favorites rock bands, Yellowcard. So hang on tight as I walk you through that day, a year ago, wide-eyed and palpitating.


Yellowcard is an American rock band formed in 1997 that debuted in 2003 with the a major-label for their hit album Ocean Avenue and single of the same title. Following their biggest breakthrough is their hit rock ballad single, Only One, which also paved its way to top billboards during its time. Yellowcard's music play along the lines of pop punk, alternative rock, punk rock and hardcore punk; however distinctive in their genre due to their prominent incorporation of the violin in their music.

Yellowcard announced their breakup with the release of their self-titled album and an expansive final world tour in 2016. “We realized that this was the right time to step away and preserve the legacy and integrity of the band,” the band wrote.


This is basically how I got my VIP tickets. I was hesitant at first because I was broke as shit and it was Christmas, but thanks to this anon, who I later knew was actually a friend of a friend of a friend, I got my tickets at a lower price in two gives! Must be fate.



So a month before the concert, my cousin and I booked our plane tickets and had a hotel room reserved near the concert venue. We were lucky to get round-trip flights sold at a promo fare. For our hotel accommodation, we did our reservation through Agoda (for some reason I can't do the link code, but this is easy to find so just work your way through it), and got a room comfortable enough at a very very low price.

We queued in at around 5 pm. The concert starts at 8 pm, but since VIPs don't get seats (because why would you sit at a rock concert), we lined up early to get to the front row. And we actually did!


The Concert Scene

The band's intro was Believe, written for the fireman that saved Sean Mackin, band's violinist, out from the rubble that covered him underneath a collapsed building during the 9/11 attack. He later found out that the man was killed after saving plenty of lives that day. The song's musical intro is a violin solo by Mackin which he composed especially for that song.

Ryan Key, Yellowcard's vocalist and my long-time crush, in the flesh! 😍 You now know how much of a fangirl I am. 🤣
Sean Mackin in the house!


They also played Sing For Me, one of their most notable songs, written for Ryan's Aunt who had succumbed to cancer. This song was also dedicated to everyone who has ever lost a loved one. For me and my cousin, this was our song for when my lolo passed away. His death wasn't as painful as losing someone to a disease, he lived a fulfilling life until the age of 88. But it was still a tough time for our family, and this song was just there when we needed something to fill the emptiness.

You'll notice my voice shaking in the video, I can't help it. 😂

Say tomorrow, I can't follow you there, just close your eyes and sing for me

I will hear you, always near you and I'll give you the words
Just sing for me


Guitarist Ryan Mendez a.k.a. Ryan M and Bae-ssist Josh Portman 😍
Jimmy Brunkvist of alternative rock band Like Torches was the tour drummer of Yellowcard. Official drummer Longineu W. Parsons III (LP) left the band in 2014.

The night was capped with their breakthrough record, Ocean Avenue and we just couldn't help but jam, jump, stumble, and cry at the same time. I walked out of the dome drenched in sweat and shaking from standing too long. Not to mention my bladder that's about to burst. Nonetheless, that was one of the best nights I've ever had. Wouldn't want to change it for anything, not even pasta!

RIP Yellowcard 1997-2017
I remember the look in your eyes When I told you that this was goodbye You were telling me not tonight not here, not now


I think this post have gone too heavy now. I took a lot of photos and I can't upload all of them here but if you want, you can find them here.

And I haven't uploaded all of my videos so they aren't available anywhere yet but I do have the setlist saved as playlist on my Spotify.

And I'm very excited because I am yet again going to meet another favorite band on the 18th. My own fair share of Valentine's day, I guess. So, watch out for another lengthy fangirling blog post.



Keep calm and rock on!

Saiyanide \m/

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center