Germany -- Something in Common

Elivs, the Beatles, and Bowie all lived in Germany

That's something that occupied my mind this morning, so why not share my stream of consciousness with you!king elvis in germany.jpg
I recently watched a new documentary about Elvis and it got me to thinking about his time in Germany. One thing he had in common with the Beatles, unfortunately they all began taking speed in Germany. The Beatles of course were young guys playing in seedy clubs on the Reeperbahn in Hamburg. Elvis was a young guy in the Army stationed in Hessen, speed allowed him more "wakeful" time outside of the Army.

Elvis rented this house and had some of his buddies from America living with him, his father, and his paternal grandmother. Every morning before diving his BMW sports car to the base, his grandmother made him a Southern breakfast: eggs, slightly burnt bacon, and homemade biscuits. After he got off duty he would sign autographs outside of this house.
link to a blog with lots of info about Elvis in Germany
elvisgermanyhouse.jpg

So this connection totally influenced my surfing this morning, and I had a lot of fun watching these clips with my morning coffee(s). First I searched for clips about the Beatles meeting Elvis.

Priscilla Presley seems to have a much more vivid memory of the encounter

As it is with Youtube, a suggested video appeared about the Beatles meeting Muhammad Ali

So I wondered, did Elvis and Muhammad Ali ever meet?

Muhammad Ali speaks at an Elvis memorial service (poor audio quality)

So I wondered if Bowie had met Elvis. I didn't find a video, but read that he had actually offered Elvis the song "Golden Years."

Bowie did have a connection with John Lennon.

John Lennon talks about David Bowie.



Bowie "Fame" Live

Finally, I couldn't find a video about Bowie and Muhammad Ali meeting, but the search brought me to this gem of a video about street art. WHAT A FANTASTIC IDEA


#morgenseiten is an idea by @shortcut -- it's basically a call to share your morning stream of consciousness

Enjoy Your Day!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!


Photo of Elvis is from his Jailhouse Rock Movie, the background photo is from @roused

Photo of Elvis' house in Germany taken by ?, effects by @roused

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center