How Elton John became Eminems sponsor and helped him get sober.

102712628_1291014021094469_6139257744940474823_o.jpg

If Elton John never said “I need help” coming up on 30 years ago, he would’ve never been in a position to help Eminem start his own recovery journey. Make no mistake, while we get sober to save our own lives, we may end up saving someone else’s life as a result. Even though Eminem had a history of controversial lyrics that referenced homophobia, Elton and Eminem have developed a close friendship. It all began with a duet at the 2001 Grammy’s but has become a lot deeper over the years.

“I didn’t know Elton was gay,” Eminem said in a 2004 interview with MTV.

“I really didn’t care. But being that he was gay and he had my back, I think it made a statement in itself saying that he understood where I was coming from.”

For this reason Elton ended up being just the person to help Eminem as things got really dark for him.

“Some days I would just lay in bed and take pills and cry… I needed pills in my body just to feel normal, so I would be sick. It was a vicious cycle,” Eminem has admitted.

Eminem has had his far share of dark times, but he finally gave in and ask Elton to help him overcome his "demons". Elton himself overcame a cocaine addiction in the 1980s.

“I’m Eminem’s AA sponsor. Whenever I ring to check in on him, he always greets me the same way: ‘Hello, you faggot, which I guess is very Eminem,” John told The Telegraph.

“When I first wanted to get sober, I called [Elton] and spoke to him about it,” said Eminem to The Guardian in 2009. “He’s somebody who’s in the business and can identify and relate to the lifestyle and how hectic things can be. He understands… the pressure and any other reasons that you want to come up with for doing drugs.”

It’s a true friendship built to last, one that we can all learn a great deal from. They overlooked their obvious differences– age, nationality, musical style, sexual orientation– and were able to connect on a very genuine level thanks to their shared experiences.Both men have acknowledged that the moment their lives changed for the better were when they finally admitted three words.

I need help.

Having the bravery to admit when they needed help made it possible for both Elton and Eminem to continue shining as icons in the music industry. They fought their addictions and came out the other side stronger and ready to help others going through the same things.

If you or someone you is struggling with addiction please reach out to us so we can see how we can help.

▂ ▃ ▄ ▅ ▆ ▇ █ █ ▇ ▆ ▅ ▄ ▃ ▂

Please visit our website or call 888-343-6693

Check out our Facebook or our Instagram

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center