Paige's Playlist: "Break the Rules" by Ruen Brothers

Paige's Playlist, May 10 2020: "Break the Rules" by Ruen Brothers

Recently my friends and I watched the new Netflix movie The Half of It, and I enjoyed it immensely. My enjoyment of coming-of-age films is entirely dependent on the characters, and the characters in the film are really enjoyable with great dynamics between each other. The movie's soundtrack is also really great. Each of the songs that were chosen have a small town vibe to them, while also providing the spark of an adventurous spirit when it calls the characters. I discuss the film because my favorite song is the one that plays during the credits, which was made for the film: "Break the Rules". I was genuinely surprised that this song came out this month, because it feels like it's from another era. It has a sleepy nostalgic feel to it, like a musical equivalent of comfort food. The lyrics also wrap up the movie pretty nicely, and on their own are a very sweet depiction of a connection between two people.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now