Old Horse from Venezuela 3

Yes, I'm a little late with an explanation of what I'm doing here. The "Old Horse " posts are a small initiative to show moral support for those folks living in Venezuela. All the up votes I get on "Old Horse from Venezuela" posts will be donated to someone from Venezuela who had no advance knowledge of being the target of a little "pick me up" expressed in SBD. I hope some will copy this idea and support their own "someone from Venezuela"; use the videos if you want, just write your own reason for doing it and you have a unique post.

This idea really flowed out of an unrelated conversation I had here on Steemit with @sukhasanasister and later realized I could use some of the examples I used, as a series to demonstrate the far reach of what seems like a simple song (but isn't), and start an initiative to generate some attention for Venezuela.

Caballo Viejo was written By Venezuelan Composer/Singer Simón Diaz and released around 1980. It soon inspired other musicians around the world to create their own version of the song, and some went as far as creating variations that became something different while still keeping elements of the original allowing the listener to trace it back to the original. With this post I think I go out of sequence a bit. The Gypsy Kings came out with their version called Bamboleo before Julio Iglesias did his version, but, the version by Julio Iglesias is a bit of a hybrid between Caballo Viejo and Bamboleo and can be used to demonstrate how closely related the 2 songs really are.

To some purists the polish of Julio Iglesias is too much for this song, but that Julio Iglesias is a phenomenal Vocalist is an undeniable fact. I hope you enjoy this live version recorded in Japan.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now