Discovering John Moreland

Every now and then, not because I'm looking but because such is life, I stumble on a musician that has that indescribable talent to transmit emotion. It's super hard to describe, and honestly out of all the descriptions I've heard people use, none of them quite encompass precisely what I'm talking about.


img src

There is this idea that talent has to look a certain way, right? A concept that as much as I've probably embraced it in my youth, I've completely rejected as the gray hairs appear on my beard. Talent, and what I can only describe as soul has no mold, no specific shape it should take, and the best artists are the hardest to describe.

I would say that if I was to walk past John in the street or in the gas station, the last thing I would imagine is that he is an amazing songwriter. There is absolutely nothing about him that would indicate so, he looks as mortal as you or me, yet he packs a punch of emotions that he delivers brilliantly with his jaded voice and guitar.

If you got five minutes to spare this morning, or this afternoon or whenever you find this unusual post of mine. Give this a good listen, don't just gloss over it, don't just check his guitar skills or try to judge is he's pitchy or not, just let John tell you a story and let it sink in.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now